Skip to main content


Standing Committees

Committees of the Faculty Senate 2013/2014

Academic Policies and Services 
To be concerned with new schools, new programs and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. 

Committee Members: 
Agnes Fogo, Chair, Medicine (2015)
Jeffrey Johnston, A&S (2014) [Executive Committee Liaison]  
Howard Kirshner, Medicine (2014)
Shelagh Mulvaney, Nursing (2014)
Michael Mihalik, A&S (2014)
Buddy Creech, Medicine (2016)
Betsy Kennedy, Nursing (2016)
Myrna Wooders, A&S (2016)
David Wright, A&S (2016)
Mel Zeigler, A&S (2016)

Faculty Life
To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members: 
Christopher Lind, Chair, Medicine (2015)
Paul Lim, Divinity (2015) [Executive Committee Liaison]  
Kevin Niswender, Medicine (2014)
Constantine Tsinakis, A&S (2014)
Laura Wayman, Medicine (2014)
Claire Smrekar, Peabody (2015)
Scott Guelcher, Engineering (2015)
Stephanie Spottswood, Medicine (2016)
James Steiger, Peabody (2016)
Robin Fountain, Blair (2015)

To be concerned with grievances arising under Part IV, Chapter 2, Section B of the Faculty Manual (those that arise from issues other than reappointment, tenure, and promotion). 

Committee Members:
Eric Barth, Chair, Engineering (2014)
Donald Brady, Medicine (2014) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Mark Cannon, Peabody (2014)
Margaret Tarpley, Medicine (2015)
Cathy Jrade, A&S (2016)
Kathryn Anderson, A&S (replacement for Joel Harrington)
Terry Maroney, Law (2016)
Al Powers, Medicine (2014)
Graham Reside, Divinity, (2016)

Senate Affairs 
Concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate. 

Committee Members: 
Ann Price, Chair, Medicine (2016)
Lillian Nanney, Medicine (2014)[Executive Committee Liaison] 
Alex Hurder, Law (2014)
Lynn Enterline, A&S (2015)
Rick Watters, Nursing (2015)
Jeffrey Blume, Medicine (2015)
Sarah Rohde, Medicine (2015)
Matthew Ramsey, A&S (2016)
Richard Willis, Owen (2016)
James Wittig, Engineering (2016)

Strategic Planning and Academic Freedom Task Force
To be concerned with long-term strategic planning and governance issues of the university. To be concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, conscience, and academic freedom under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution.

Committee Members:
Andy Gokhale, Chair, Engineering (2014) 
Sal March, Owen [Executive Committee Liaison]
Bob Driskill, A&S (replacement for Rick Bond)
Joe Gigante, Medicine (2014)
Joel Tellinghuisen, A&S (2014)
Sandra Barnes, Peabody (2016)
Eric Delpire, Medicine (2016)
John Greer, Medicine (2016)
Leah Marcus, A&S (2016)
Joyce Johnson, Medicine (2016)

Student Life 
To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:
Joe Wehby, Chair, Peabody (2015)
Rolanda Johnson, Nursing (2015) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Adam Anderson, Engineering (2015)
Celeste Hemingway, Medicine (2015)
Mark Schoenfield, A&S (2015)
Jo-Anne Bachorowski, A&S (2014)
Susan Berk-Seligson, A&S (replacement for Houston Baker)
Alyssa Hasty, Medicine (2016)
Michael Slayton, Blair (2016)
Edward Wright-Rios, A&S (2016)

Greek Life Task Force


David Weintraub, Co-chair, Professor, A&S (Physics & Astronomy)
Gregory Melchor-Barz, Co-chair, Associate Professor, Blair; and Head of North House
Brooke Ackerly, Associate Professor, A&S (Political Science)
Donald Brady, Professor, Medicine & Senate Chair
John Braxton, Professor, Peabody
Roger Cone, Professor & Chair, Biomedical Science
Catherine Fuchs, Associate Professor, Medicine & Director of Psychological Counseling Center
Brian Heuser, Assistant Professor of the Practice, International Education Policy
Chalene Helmuth, Senior Lecturer, A&S (Spanish & Portuguese) and Head of Sutherland House
Paul Lim, Associate Professor, Divinity; Senate Chair-elect; and Head of Crawford House
William H. Robinson, Associate Professor, Engineering
Kyla Terhune, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Joe Wehby, Associate Professor, Peabody & Student Life committee liaison

Online Education Task Force


Ranga Ramanujam, Chair, Owen (2014)
Bobby Bodenheimer, Associate Professor, Engineering
Tim Hanusa, Professor, A&S (Chemistry)
Bonnie Pilon, Professor, Nursing
Tyler Reimschisel, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Kevin Stack, Professor, Law
Douglas Clark, Associate Professor, Peabody
Volney Gay, Professor, Divinity
Jay Clayton, Professor, A&S (English)
Nicole McCoin, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Sal March, Senate EC Liaison, Professor, Owen
Doug Fisher, ex officio, Associate Professor, Engineering & Director of Institute for Digital Learning