Skip to main content


Standing Committees

2018/19 Committees

Academic Policies and Services 

To be concerned with new schools, new programs and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. 

Committee Members:
Katherine Friedman, Chair, A&S (2020)
Holly Algood, Medicine (2020) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Derek Griffith, A&S (2019)
Jennifer Kim, Nursing (2019)
Haoxiang, Luo, Engineering (2019)
Mark deCaestecker, Medicine (2020)
Peter Martin, Medicine (2020)
Leena Choi, Medicine (2021)

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

To be concerned with policies, programs, and practices that will ensure considerations of diversity, equity and inclusion in the Faculty Senate and in the University.

Committee Members:
William Robinson, Chair, Engineering (2019)
Vicki Greene, A&S (2019 [Executive Committee Liaison]
Mary Ann Jessee, Nursing (2020)
Cindy Kam, A&S (2021)
William Luis, A&S (2021)
Ben Tran, A&S (2021)
Vanessa Beasley, A&S **
Jesse Ehrenfeld, Medicine ** 
Beverly Moran Law **
Claire Smrekar, Peabody**
Tiffany Galvin Green, Inclusive Excellence**
Melissa Thomas-Hunt, Inclusive Excellence**
** Non-Senator

Faculty Life

To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members:
Paul Laibinis, Chair, Engineering (2020)
Jeremy Wilson, Blair (2019) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Leah Lowe, A&S (2019)
Liza Weavind, Medicine (2019)
Ingrid Wuerth, Law (2019)
Lola Chambless, Medicine (2021)
Ben Harris, Blair (2021)
Julia Philippi, Nursing (2021)
Lynn Ramey, A&S (2021)

Faculty Manual

To be concerned with all changes and proposed changes to the Faculty Manual and changes in other University policies that have a direct bearing on the Faculty Manual. To be concerned with compliance and regulatory changes from federal/state agencies and other regulatory bodies that require revisions to the Manual. To be concerned with policy issues arising within the Colleges and Schools at Vanderbilt that require clarification of the Manual, especially where congruence between the Schools and University is concerned. To ensure that any changes to the Manual are clearly identified, communicated, and archived annually. 

Committee Members:
Brooke Ackerly, Chair, A&S (2019)
Geoffrey Fleming, Medicine [Executive Committee Liaison] **
Myrna Wooders, A&S (2019)
David Cole, Peabody (2020)
Chris Lehmann, Medicine (2020)
Yesha Yadav, Law (2020)
Richard Pitt, A&S (2020)
Florence Sanchez, Engineering (2021)
Duco Jansen, Engineering **
Becky Keck, Nursing **

** Non-Senator


To be concerned with grievances arising under Part IV, Chapter 2, Section B of the Faculty Manual (those that arise from issues other than reappointment, tenure, and promotion). 

Committee Members:
Jim Hudnut-Beumler, Chair, A&S (2021)
Vicki Greene, A&S (2019) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Jill Simmons, Medicine (2019)
Borden Lacy, Medicine (2020)
Moses Ochonu, A&S (2020)
Catherine McTamaney, Peabody (2021)
Ann Neeley, Peabody (2021)

Senate Affairs 

To be concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate. 

Committee Members: 
Dawn Iacobucci, Chair, Owen (2019)
Jeremy Wilson, Blair (2019) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Ron Carnahan, Medicine (2019)
Andy Finch, Peabody (2019)
Pierre Massion, Medicine (2019)
Nick Bollen, Owen (2020)
Shane Hutson, A&S (2020)
Ann Price, Medicine (2020)
Jason Valentine, Engineering (2020)

Strategic Planning and Academic Freedom

To be concerned with long-term strategic planning and governance issues of the university. To be concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, conscience, and academic freedom under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution.

Committee Members:
Christopher Wright, Chair, Medicine (2019)
Leslie Hopkins, Nursing [Executive Committee Liaison] **
Tedra Walden, Peabody (2019)
Vicky Morgan, Medicine (2021)
Carolyn Audet, Medicine (2021)
Amy Weeks, Medicine (2021)

** Non-Senator

Student Life 

To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:
Kyla Terhune, Chair,  (2020)
John McLean, A&S (2020)  [Executive Committee Liaison]
Ban Allos, Medicine (2019)
Buddy Creech, Medicine (2020)
Brian L. Heuser, Peabody (2020)
Sandra Rosenthal, A&S (2020)
Lourdes Estrada, Medicine (2021)
Juan Floyd- Thomas, Divinity (2019)
Abby Parish, Nursing (2021)
Virginia Scott, A&S (2021)
Greg Walker, Engineering (2021)

Task Force on Faculty Wellness 2017-2018

Task Force Members:
Charlene Dewey, Chair, Mediciner**
Jeremy Wilson, Blair [EC Liaison]
Jim Blumstein, Law **
Susan Carter, Medicine **
Mario Davidson, Medicine **
Rachel Eskridge, Center for Student Wellbeing **
Sharon F. Green, Medicine **
Katy Hanson, Student Health Services **
Rolanda Johnson, Nursing **
Paul Lim, Divinity **
Peter Martin, Medicine **
Jim Pichert, Medicine **
Ann Price, Medicine
Tedra Walden, Peabody
Mary Yarbrough, Medicine **

** Non-Senator

Task Force on University Athletics 2017-2018

Task Force Members:
Karl Hackenbrack, Chair, Owen **
Jeremy Wilson, Blair (2019) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Ann Price, Medicine (2019)
Claire Smrekar, Peabody **
Julie Johnson, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science **
Eliza Clemens (Senior/Lacrosse), Peabody **
Kelsey Davis (Master/Soccer), Divinity **

Samuel DeFabrizio (Senior/Cross Country), A&S **
Rachel Eskridge, Center for Student Wellbeing **
Candice Lee, Vice Chancellor & Deputy Athletic Director **
Scott Limbocker (Ph.D./Baseball), A&S **
Jasper Richardson, Director VOI Fitness Center **

** Non-Senator