Skip to main content


Standing Committees

2017/18 Committees

Academic Policies and Services 

To be concerned with new schools, new programs and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. 

Committee Members:
Haoxiang Luo, Chair, Engineering (2019)
Leslie Hopkins, Nursing (2018) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Gayle Shay, Blair (2018)
Lou Outlaw, A&S (2018)
Jennifer Kim, Nursing (2019)
Sal March, Owen (2019)
Holly Algood, Medicine  (2020)
Katherine Friedman, A&S  (2020)
Peter Martin, Medicine (2020)

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Charge to be determined by committee

Committee Members:
Teresa Goddu, Co-Chair, A&S (2018)
William Robinson, Co-Chair, Engineering (2019)
Vicki Greene, A&S (2019 [Executive Committee Liaison]
Claire Smrekar, Peabody (2018)
Choon-Leong Seow, Divinity (2019)
Mary Ann Jessee, Nursing (2020)
Vanessa Beasley, A&S **
Jesse Ehrenfeld, Medicine ** 
Beverly Moran Law **
** Non-Senator

Faculty Life

To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members:
Leah Lowe, Chair, A&S (2019)
Charlene Dewey, Medicine (2017) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Bapsi Chakravarthy, Medicine (2018)
David Merryman, Engineering (2018)
Jay Geller, Divinity (2018)
Liza Weavind, Medicine (2019)
Ingrid Wuerth, Law (2019)
Malcolm Getz, A&S (2020)
John McLean, A&S (2020)

Faculty Manual

To be concerned with all changes and proposed changes to the Faculty Manual and changes in other University policies that have a direct bearing on the Faculty Manual. To be concerned with compliance and regulatory changes from federal/state agencies and other regulatory bodies that require revisions to the Manual. To be concerned with policy issues arising within the Colleges and Schools at Vanderbilt that require clarification of the Manual, especially where congruence between the Schools and University is concerned. To ensure that any changes to the Manual are clearly identified, communicated, and archived annually. 

Committee Members:
Brooke Ackerly, Chair, A&S (2019)
Geoffrey Fleming, Medicine (2018) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Benigno Trigo. A&S, (2018)
Myrna Wooders, A&S (2019)
Josh Fessel, Medicine (2020)
Chris Lehmann, Medicine (2020)
Yesha Yadav, Law (2020)
Duco Jansen, Engineering (ex officio)
Becky Keck, Nursing (ex officio)


To be concerned with grievances arising under Part IV, Chapter 2, Section B of the Faculty Manual (those that arise from issues other than reappointment, tenure, and promotion). 

Committee Members:
David Weintraub, Chair, A&S (2018)
Geoffrey Fleming, Medicine (2018) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Geri Reeves, Nursing (2018)
Derek Griffith, A&S (2019)
Jill Simmons, Medicine (2019)
Borden Lacy, Medicine (2020)
Moses Ochonu, A&S (2020)

Senate Affairs 

To be concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate. 

Committee Members: 
Jonathan Schildcrout, Chair, Medicine (2018)
Jeremy Wilson, Blair (2019) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Andy Finch, Peabody (2019)
Pierre Massion, Medicine (2019)
Nick Bollen, Owen (2020)
David Cole, Peabody (2020)
Shane Hutson, A&S (2020)
Ann Price, Medicine (2020)
Jason Valentine, Engineering (2020)

Strategic Planning and Academic Freedom

To be concerned with long-term strategic planning and governance issues of the university. To be concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, conscience, and academic freedom under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution.

Committee Members:
Robert Carnahan, Chair, Medicine (2019)
Leslie Hopkins, Nursing (2018) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Sam Chang, Medicine (2018)
Jennifer Green, Medicine (2018)
Michael Miga, Engineering (2018)
Kevin Murphy, A&S (2018)
Tedra Walden, Peabody (2019)
Christopher Wright, Medicine (2019) 

Student Life 

To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:
Kyla Terhune, Chair,  (2020)
Brian L. Heuser, Peabody (2020) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Sarah Rohde, Medicine (2018)
Debbie Rowe, Peabody (2018)
Ban Allos, Medicine (2019)
Buddy Creech, Medicine (2020)
Paul Laibinis, Engineering (2020)
Sandra Rosenthal, A&S (2020)

Task Force on Faculty Wellness 2017-2018

Task Force Members:
Charlene Dewey, Medicine [Executive Committee]

Task Force on University Athletics 2017-2018

Task Force Members:
Karl Hackenbrack, Chair, Owen
Jeremy Wilson, Blair (2019) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Ann Price, Medicine (2019)
Claire Smrekar, Peabody (2018)
Julie Johnson, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Eliza Clemens (Senior/Lacrosse), Peabody
Kelsey Davis (Master/Soccer), Divinity
Samuel DeFabrizio (Senior/Cross Country), A&S
Rachel Eskridge, Center for Student Wellbeing
Candice Lee, Vice Chancellor & Deputy Athletic Director
Scott Limbocker (Ph.D./Baseball), A&S
Jasper Richardson, Director VOI Fitness Center