Skip to main content


Standing Committees

2016/17 Committees

Academic Policies and Services 
To be concerned with new schools, new programs and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. 

Committee Members:
Gayle Shay, Chair, Blair (2018)
Leslie Hopkins, Nursing (2018) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Brian Christman, Medicine (2017)
Jennifer Kim, Nursing (2019)
Brooke Ackerly, A&S (2019)
Haoxiang Luo, Engineering (2019)
Tom Talbot, Medicine (2017)
Caglar Oskay, Engineering (2017)
Donna Webb, A&S (2017)

Faculty Life
To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members:
Scott Pearson, Chair, Medicine (2017)
Charlene Dewey, Medicine (2017) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Leah Lowe, A&S (2019)
Liza Weavind, Medicine (2019)
Ray Friedman, Owen (2017)
Mark Cannon, Peabody (2017)
Fernando Segovia, Divinity (2018)
David Merryman, Engineering (2018)
Teresa Goddu, A&S (2018)
Ingrid Wuerth, Law (2019)

Faculty Manual
To be concerned with all changes and proposed changes to the Faculty Manual and changes in other University policies that have a direct bearing on the Faculty Manual. To be concerned with compliance and regulatory changes from federal/state agencies and other regulatory bodies that require revisions to the Manual. To be concerned with policy issues arising within the Colleges and Schools at Vanderbilt that require clarification of the Manual, especially where congruence between the Schools and University is concerned. To ensure that any changes to the Manual are clearly identified, communicated, and archived annually. 

Committee Members:
Myrna Wooders, Chair, A&S (2019)
Geoffrey Fleming, Medicine (2018) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Richard Willis, Owen (2016) (ex officio)
Benigno Trigo. A&S, (2018)
Senta V. Greene, A&S (2019)
Tony Weil, Medicine (2019)
Duco Jansen, Engineering (ex officio)
Becky Keck, Nursing (ex officio)

To be concerned with grievances arising under Part IV, Chapter 2, Section B of the Faculty Manual (those that arise from issues other than reappointment, tenure, and promotion). 

Committee Members:
Tom Christenbery, Chair, Nursing (2017)
Charlene M. Dewey, Medicine [Executive Committee Liaison]
Dale Andrews, Divinity, (2019)
Jill Simmons, Medicine (2019)
Bill Walsh, Medicine (2017)
Richard Haglund, A&S (2017)
David Weintraub, A&S (2018)
Geri Reeves, Nursing (2018)
Richard Willis, Owen (2016) (ex-officio)
Leor Halevi, A&S (2019) for Derek Griffith, A&S (2019)

Senate Affairs 
To be concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate. 

Committee Members: 
Kevin Murphy, Chair, A&S (2018)
Ann Price, Medicine (2016) [Executive Committee Liaison]
William Robinson, Engineering (2019)
Andy Finch, Peabody (2019)
Pierre Massion, Medicine (2019)
Jonathan Schildcrout, Medicine (2018)
Peter Martin, Medicine (2017)

Strategic Planning and Academic Freedom
To be concerned with long-term strategic planning and governance issues of the university. To be concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, conscience, and academic freedom under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution.

Committee Members:
Xenofon Koutsoukos, Chair, Engineering. (2017)
Charlene M. Dewey, Medicine (2017) [Executive Committee Liaison] 
Christopher Wright, Medicine (2019)
Robert Carnahan, Medicine (2019)
Tedra Walden, Peabody (2019)
Sal March, Owen (2019)
Michael Miga, Engineering. (2018)
Sam Chang, Medicine (2018)
Jennifer Green, Medicine (2018)
Sean Seymore, Law (2019)
Holly McCammon, A&S (2017)

Student Life 
To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:
David Cliffel, Chair, A&S (2017)
Brian L. Heuser, Peabody (2017) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Ban Allos, Medicine (2019)
Jeremy Wilson, Blair (2019)
Brian Bachmann, A&S (2017)
Tony Brown, A&S (2017)
Nicole McCoin, Medicine (2017)
Barbara Stengel, Peabody (2018)
Sarah Rohde, Medicine (2018)

Task Force on University Athletics 2016-2017

Task Force Members:
Karl Hackenbrack, Chair, Owen
Ann Price, Medicine (2016) (ex-officio) [Executive Committee Liaison] 
Claire Smrekar, Peabody (2018)
Jasper Richardson, Director VOI Fitness Center
Eliza Clemens (Junior/Lacrosse), Peabody
Kelsey Davis (Master/Soccer), Divinity
Scott Limbocker (Ph.D./Baseball), A&S
Samuel DeFabrizio (Junior/Cross Country), A&S
Rachel Eskridge, Center for Student Wellbeing
Candice Lee, Vice Chancellor & Deputy Athletic Director

Greek Life Task Force (2013-15)

Task Force Members:
David Weintraub, Co-chair, Professor, A&S (Physics & Astronomy)
Gregory Melchor-Barz, Co-chair, Associate Professor, Blair; and Head of North House
Brooke Ackerly, Associate Professor, A&S (Political Science)
Donald Brady, Professor, Medicine & Past Senate Chair
John Braxton, Professor, Peabody
Roger Cone, Professor & Chair, Biomedical Science
Catherine Fuchs, Associate Professor, Medicine & Director of Psychological Counseling Center
Brian L. Heuser, Assistant Professor of the Practice, International Education Policy
Chalene Helmuth, Senior Lecturer, A&S (Spanish & Portuguese) and Head of Sutherland House
Paul Lim, Associate Professor, Divinity; Senate Chair-elect; and Head of Crawford House
William H. Robinson, Associate Professor, Engineering
Kyla Terhune, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Joe Wehby, Associate Professor, Peabody & Student Life committee liaison

Online Education Task Force (2013-15)

Task Force Members:
Ranga Ramanujam, Chair, Owen 
Nicole McCoin, Medicine (2017)
Bobby Bodenheimer, Associate Professor, Engineering
Tim Hanusa, Professor, A&S (Chemistry)
Bonnie Pilon, Professor, Nursing
Tyler Reimschisel, Assistant Professor, Medicine
Kevin Stack, Professor, Law
Douglas Clark, Associate Professor, Peabody
Volney Gay, Professor, Divinity
Jay Clayton, Professor, A&S (English)
Sal March, Professor, Owen
Doug Fisher, ex officio, Associate Professor, Engineering & Director of Institute for Digital Learning