Skip to main content


Committees of the Faculty Senate 2003/2004

APS   |  Faculty Life  |  PEAF  |   Senate Affairs  |  Student Life  

Academic Policies and Services 
To be concerned with new schools, new programs, and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. To examine university strategic plans and initiatives.

Committee Members :  
John Oates, Chair,  Medicine  (2004)
Robert Thompson,  Law  (2005) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Greg Barz,  Blair  (2006)
Vivien Casagrande,  Medicine  (2006)
Mark Ellingham,  A&S  (2006)
Dan Fleetwood,  Engineering  (2005)
Victoria Greene,  A&S  (2005)
Stephen Heyneman,  Peabody  (2005)
Ronald Masulis,  Owen  (2005)
Jason Morrow,  Medicine  (2005) 
Cynthia Paschal,  Engineering  (2004) 
Jack Sasson,  Divinity  (2004) 
Helmut Smith,  A&S  (2006)

(back to top)

Faculty Life 
To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members:  
Bart Victor, Chair,  Owen  (2004) 
Dale Farran,  Peabody  (2004) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Susie Adams,  Nursing  (2006)
Sara Eigen,  A&S  (2006)
Margaret McGill,  Nursing  (2005)
Jacek Hawiger,  Medicine  (2005)
Anne Neff,  Medicine  (2005) 
Dieter Sevin,  A&S  (2006)
Joel Tellinghuisen,  A&S  (2005) 

(back to top)  

Professional Ethics and Academic Freedom 
Concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, academic freedom, and conscience, under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution. Serves as a University committee on appeals as required in the Principles and Rules for Appointment and Tenure. When functioning in this latter capacity, the Committee is not serving as a committee of the Faculty Senate and is therefore not governed by these Rules. 

Committee Members:  
John McCarthy, Chair, fall 2003,  A&S  (2006) 
James Ely, Chair, spring 2004,  Law  (2004) 
Matthew Ramsey,  A&S  (2004) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Agnes Fogo,  Medicine  (2004)
Marie Griffin,  Medicine  (2006)
Craig Ann Heflinger,  Peabody  (2006)
Michael Hodges,  A&S  (2006)
Mary Ann Horn,  A&S  (2004)
Gene LeBoeuf,  Engineering  (2006)
Arnold Strauss,  Medicine  (2004) 
Kay Washington,  Medicine  (2006)

(back to top)  

Senate Affairs 
Concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate. The Parliamentarian shall chair this committee. 

Committee Members: 
Beth Conklin, Chair,  A&S  (2005) 
Dale Farran,  Peabody  (2004) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Kathleen Flake,  Divinity  (2006)
Volney Gay,  A&S  (2004)
Michael Goldfarb,  Engineering  (2005) 
Stan Link,  Blair  (2004)
Neil Osheroff,  Medicine  (2004) 
Frank Wcislo,  A&S  (2005)

(back to top)  

Student Life 
To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:  
Robert Innes, Chair,  Peabody  (2004) 
Marshall Summar,  Medicine  (2005) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Virginia Shepherd,  Medicine  [ex-officio]
Michael Bess,  A&S  (2004) 
Peter Cummings,  Engineering  (2006)
Stokes Peebles,  Medicine  (2006)
Doug Perkins,  Peabody  (2005)
Ed Saff,  A&S  (2005)
Larry Swift,  Medicine  (2004)

(back to top)