Faculty Senate VU home VU home  

Senate Home


Senators and Officers

Standing Committees

Task Forces

Schedule of Meetings



Committees of the Faculty Senate 2010/2011

 |  Faculty Life  |  PEAF  |  Senate Affairs  |  Student Life

Academic Policies and Services
To be concerned with new schools, new programs, and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. To examine university strategic plans and initiatives.

Committee Members:
Eric Skaar, Chair, Medicine (2013)
Greg Barz, Blair (2012)[Executive Committee Liaison]
Stacy Floyd-Thomas, Divinity (2012)
Ted Fischer, A&S (2013)
Daniel Gervais, Law (2013)
Sal March
, Owen (2013)
Dieter Sevin, A&S (2012)
Claire Smrekar, Peabody (2011)
Luc Van Kaer, Medicine (2012)
Greg Walker, Engineering (2011)
Paul D. Young, A&S (2012)

(back to top)

Faculty Life
To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members:
Ann Price, Chair, Medicine (2011)
Cynthia Paschal, Engineering (ex officio) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Dan Beauchamp, Medicine (2012)
Mark Does, Engineering (2013)
Anne Moore, Nursing (2013)
Andres Zamora, A&S (2013)
Clint Carter, A&S (2011)**replacing Ned Porter
Steve Hyman, Medicine (2013)
Larry LeBlanc, Owen (2011)
Paul Yoder, Peabody (2012)

(back to top)

Professional Ethics and Academic Freedom
To be concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, academic freedom, and conscience, under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution. Serves as a University committee on appeals as required in the Principles and Rules for Appointment and Tenure. When functioning in this latter capacity, the Committee is not serving as a committee of the Faculty Senate and is therefore not governed by these Rules.

Committee Members:
Terri Donaldson, Chair, Nursing (2012)
Brian Christman, Medicine (2011) [Executive Committee Liaison]
John Braxton, Peabody (2013)
William Collins, A&S (2011)
Bruce Hughes, A&S (2013)
Ted Smith, Divinity (2013)
Alex Hurder, Law (2011)
Lillian Nanney, Medicine (2011)
Jennifer Halpern, Medicine (2012)

(back to top)

Senate Affairs
Concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate.

Committee Members:
Sharon Shields, Chair, Peabody (2011)
Jack Roberts, Medicine (ex officio) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Judy Aschner, Medicine (2013)
David Carbone, Medicine (2013)
Kass Kovalcheck, A&S (2012)**replacing Mark Wollaeger
Charles Lukeheart, A&S (2011)
Bridget Rogers, Engineering (2012)
Molly Miller, A&S (2011)
William Tansey, Medicine (2013)

(back to top)

Student Life
To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:
Mavis Schorn, Chair, Nursing (2011)
Robert Bodenheimer, Engineering (2011)[Executive Committee Liaison]
Vanessa Beasley, A&S (2013)
Joy Calico, Blair (2013)
Robert F. Miller, Medicine (2012)
Richard Peek, Medicine (2011)
William Turner, Peabody (2013)
Thomas Schwartz, A&S (2013)
Tony Weil, Medicine (2011)

(back to top)

Senate Task Force

Task Force Members:
Agnes Fogo, Chair, Medicine (2012)
David Weintraub, A&S (2012)[Executive Committee Liaison]

Jeremy Atack, A&S (2013)
Benoit Dawant, Divinity (2012)
Bruce Oppenheimer, A&S (2011)
Danny Winder, Medicine (2013)
Mary Yarbrough, Medicine (2013)

For more information, please contact Andrea Hewitt-Gibson, Program Coordinator, Faculty Senate. (615) 343-3841.

Copyright © 2002 Site design and HTML by Vanderbilt University Division of Public Affairs