Faculty Senate VU home VU home  

Senate Home


Senators and Officers

Standing Committees

Task Forces

Schedule of Meetings



Committees of the Faculty Senate 2009/2010

 |  Faculty Life  |  PEAF  |  Senate Affairs  |  Student Life

Academic Policies and Services
To be concerned with new schools, new programs, and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. To examine university strategic plans and initiatives.

Committee Members:
Tony Weil, Chair, Medicine (2011)
Brian Christman, Medicine (2011) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Margaret Blair, Law (2010)
Bill Christie, Owen (2010)
Edward Saff, A&S (2011)
Claire Smrekar, Peabody (2011)
Michael Stone, A&S (2010)
Luc Van Kaer, Medicine (2012)
Greg Walker, Engineering (2011)
Paul D. Young, A&S (2012)

(back to top)

Faculty Life
To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members:
Lillian Nanney, Chair, Medicine (2011)
Ginny Shepherd, Medicine (ex officio) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Dan Beauchamp, Medicine (2012)
Benoit Dawant, Divinity (2012)
Robin Fountain, Blair (2010)**serving as one-year replacement for Joy Calico**
Larry LeBlanc, Owen (2011)
Michael Aurbach, A&S (2010)**serving as replacement for Kelly Oliver for fall 09**
Dave Piston, Medicine (2010)
Lynn Ramey, A&S (2012)
Mary Yarbrough, Medicine (2010)
Paul Yoder, Peabody (2012)

(back to top)

Professional Ethics and Academic Freedom
To be concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, academic freedom, and conscience, under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution. Serves as a University committee on appeals as required in the Principles and Rules for Appointment and Tenure. When functioning in this latter capacity, the Committee is not serving as a committee of the Faculty Senate and is therefore not governed by these Rules.

Committee Members:
Frank Bloch, Chair, Law (2011)
Cynthia Paschal, Engineering (2010) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Jack Roberts, Medicine (2010) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Rick Barr, Medicine (2010)**completing Gordon Bernard's term**
William Collins, A&S (2011)
Terri Donaldson, Nursing (2012)
Stacy Floyd-Thomas, Divinity (2012)
Bruce Oppenheimer, A&S (2011)
Dan Reschly,Peabody (2010)
Mark Wollaeger, A&S (2012)

(back to top)

Senate Affairs
Concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate.

Committee Members:
Ellen Armour, Chair, Divinity (2010)
Robert Bodenheimer, Engineering (2011)[Executive Committee Liaison]
Agnes Fogo, Medicine (2012)
Scott Heibert, Medicine (2010)
Charles Lukeheart, A&S (2011)
Todd Graham, A&S (2011)**serving as one-year replacement for Ned Porter**
Ann Price, Medicine (2011)
Peter Rousseau, A&S (2010)
Sharon Shields, Peabody (2011)

(back to top)

Student Life
To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:
Bridget Rogers, Chair, Engineering (2009)
Jonathan Retzlaff, Blair (ex officio)[Executive Committee Liaison]
Greg Barz, Blair (2012)
Richard Blackett, A&S (2010)
John Braxton, Peabody (2010)
Jennifer Halpern, Medicine (2012)
Robert F. Miller, Medicine (2012)
Richard Peek, Medicine (2011)
Mavis Schorn, Nursing (2011)
David Weintraub, A&S (2012)

(back to top)

For more information, please contact Andrea Hewitt-Gibson, Program Coordinator, Faculty Senate. (615) 343-3841.

Copyright © 2002 Site design and HTML by Vanderbilt University Division of Public Affairs