Faculty Senate VU home VU home  

Senate Home


Senators and Officers

Standing Committees

Task Forces

Schedule of Meetings



Committees of the Faculty Senate 2008/2009

 |  Faculty Life  |  PEAF  |  Senate Affairs  |  Student Life

Academic Policies and Services
To be concerned with new schools, new programs, and new degrees. To consider policies regarding academic honors, leaves, grants, promotions, departmental and divisional chairmanships, programs abroad, the academic calendar, career planning and placement, Vanderbilt University Library, Information Services, the bookstore, and the University Press. To examine university strategic plans and initiatives.

Committee Members:
Michael Stone, Chair, A&S (2010)
Ron Emeson, Medicine (ex officio) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Michael McLendon, Peabody (2009)
Gordon Bernard, Medicine (2010)
Margaret Blair, Law (2010)
Bill Christie, Owen (2010)
Esther Eisenberg, Medicine (2009)
Lillian Nanney, Medicine (2011)
Ned Porter, A&S (2011)
Edward Saff, A&S (2011)
Greg Walker, Engineering (2011)

(back to top)

Faculty Life
To be concerned with policies relating to wages and salaries, fringe benefits, management of investments, employment of non-academic personnel, faculty intellectual property including copyrights and patents, buildings and grounds, space, campus communications, traffic, parking, food services, and campus security.

Committee Members:
Dave Piston, Chair, Medicine (2010)
Jonathan Retzlaff, Blair (2009)[Executive Committee Liaison]
Jose Medina, A&S (2009)
Tracy Sharpley-Whiting, A&S (2009)
Bonnie Slovis, Medicine (2009)
Robert Weller, Engineering (2009)
Kelly Oliver, A&S (2010)
Mary Yarbrough, Medicine (2010)
Ellen Armour, Divinity (2010)(on leave fall 08)
Benigno Trigo, A&S (2009)(on leave spring 09)

(back to top)

Professional Ethics and Academic Freedom
Concerned with policy regarding professional ethics, academic freedom, and conscience, under Article II, Section 3e of the Senate Constitution. Serves as a University committee on appeals as required in the Principles and Rules for Appointment and Tenure. When functioning in this latter capacity, the Committee is not serving as a committee of the Faculty Senate and is therefore not governed by these Rules.

Committee Members:
Dan Reschly, Chair, Peabody (2010)
Ginny Shepherd, Medicine (2009) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Jack Roberts, Medicine (2010) [Executive Committee Liaison]
Howard Kirshner, Medicine (2009)
David Wood, A&S (2009) (on leave fall 08)
Paul DeHart, Divinity (2009)(on leave spring 09)
Frank Bloch, Law (2011)
Robert Bodenheimer, Engineering (2011)
Brian Christman, Medicine (2011)
William Collins, A&S (2011)
Claire Smrekar, Peabody (2011)
Vereen Bell, A&S**replacement for David Wood/Benigno Trigo**

(back to top)

Senate Affairs
Concerned with all matters pertaining to the functioning of the Senate. Responsible for a continuing review of the Rules of the Faculty Senate, recommending new rules when appropriate, and assisting in the interpretation of existing rules. Considers proposed revisions of the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly and Faculty Senate when this duty is assigned by the Senate.

Committee Members:
Jeanette Norden, Chair, Medicine (2009)
Cynthia Paschal, Engineering (2010)

Anne Moore, Nursing (2009)
Joy Calico, Blair (2010)
Peter Rousseau, A&S (2010)
Scott Heibert, Medicine (2010)
Malcolm Getz, A&S**one year replacement for Peter Rousseau**
Larry LeBlanc, Owen (2011)
Charles Lukeheart, A&S (2011)
Tony Weil, Medicine (2011)

(back to top)

Student Life
To be concerned with policies relating to student matters including residential colleges, rules and discipline, future composition of the student body, fraternities and sororities, intercollegiate athletics and club sports, intramurals, the Honor System, faculty-student relations, religious affairs, and the student health service.

Committee Members:
John Braxton, Chair, Peabody (2010)
Bruce Barry, Owen (ex officio)[Executive Committee Liaison]
Bridget Rogers, Engineering (2009)
Richard Blackett, A&S (2010)
Bruce Oppenheimer, A&S (2011)
Richard Peek, Medicine (2011)
Ann Price, Medicine (2011)
Mavis Schorn, Nursing (2011)
Sharon Shields, Peabody (2011)
Jack Sasson, Divinity**one year replacement for Ellen Armour/Paul DeHart**

(back to top)

For more information, please contact Andrea Hewitt-Gibson, Program Coordinator, Faculty Senate. (615) 343-3841.

Copyright © 2002 Site design and HTML by Vanderbilt University Division of Public Affairs