Skip to main content

Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award

Call for nominations: Fall 2023
Submission Deadline: December 2023

The Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award was created to honor Chancellor Wyatt upon his retirement in 2000. The award is intended to recognize accomplishments that span multiple academic disciplines.

The title is conferred upon a full-time faculty member, regardless of rank or school, for the development of significant new knowledge from research or exemplary innovations in teaching. The announcement is made at the Spring Faculty Assembly.

The recipient carries for one year the title Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor and receives a $5,000 award and an engraved silver tray. Members of the Faculty are invited to submit nominations to the Faculty Senate. The Faculty Senate Consultative Committee reviews the nominations and makes recommendations to the Provost. The final selection is made by the Chancellor in consultation with the Provost.

Nominations will be accepted through InfoReady. Please contact Stacey McCarty ( with any questions related to the award process.

Previous Winners

  • 2023 Evelyn Patterson (Sociology)
  • 2022 Maury Nation (Human and Organizational Development)
  • 2021 Mark Denison (Pediatric Infectious Disease)
  • 2020 Marybeth Shinn (Human and Organizational Development)
  • 2019 Steven Wernke (Anthropology)
  • 2018 Alan Wiseman (Political Science)
  • 2017 Laurie E. Cutting (Special Education)
  • 2016 Velma McBride Murry (Human and Organizational Development)
  • 2015  Ted. S. Hasselbring (Special Education)
  • 2014 Owen D. Jones (Law and Biological Sciences)
  • 2013 Tom D. Dillehay (Anthropology)
  • 2012 Janos Sztipanovits (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • 2011  Bruce E. Compas (Psychology and Human Development)
  • 2010 David S. Kosson (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
  • 2009 Dana D. Nelson (English)
  • 2008 David Charles Wood (Philosophy)
  • 2007  Kenneth A. Wallston (Psychology)
  • 2006 Sankaran Mahadevan (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
  • 2005 Gary F. Jensen (Sociology)
  • 2004  Marshall C. Eakin (History)
  • 2003 Paul A. Cobb (Teaching and Learning)
  • 2002 Judy G. Ozbolt (Nursing)
  • 2001 Douglas Fuchs (Special Education) and Lynn S. Fuchs (Special Education)