Skip to main content

Chancellor’s Award for Research on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Call for Nominations: Spring 2023
Submission Deadline: Summer 2023

The Chancellor’s Awards for Research on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion recognize excellence on the part of faculty in published research, scholarship, or creative expression that advances our understanding of equity, diversity, and inclusion. The awards will be given for works presented or published in the preceding three calendar years. This year’s awards will be given for works that have publication years of 2020, 2021, or 2022. All full-time faculty members are eligible for these research prizes. Work by research teams (two or more faculty) at Vanderbilt are also eligible for consideration. All Vanderbilt co-authors must be nominated in a single nomination, and they would share the award. (Co-authors who are not Vanderbilt faculty are not recognized.)

The award consists of a cash prize of $ 2,000 and an engraved pewter julep cup.

Nominations must include the following materials:

  1. The full citation for the work;
  2. A brief description of the nominated work;
  3. An explanation of the significance of the research, scholarship, or creative expression;
  4. Evidence of the work’s importance, including external commentary, book reviews, impact factors, citations, awards, and other external recognition;
  5. A complete curriculum vitae; and,
  6. A copy of the article or, in the case of a book, the introduction and a significant chapter. For creative works or presentations, an appropriate archival work may be submitted.

Letters of nomination or additional recommendation letters are helpful but not required.

Previous recipients are not eligible to receive a second award. The list of past winners can be found on the Office of Faculty Affairs website.

Complete nominations must be received by 5 p.m. on Friday, June 16, 2023.

Please submit all nominations electronically via InfoReady. You must log in to the system using your VUnetID and password. Please direct any questions to the Office of Faculty Development (

PDF Guide

Current Winners

  • Joanne Golann (Leadership, Policy & Organizations)
  • Jennifer Shinall (Law)
  • Rebecca VanDiver (History of Art & Architecture)

Previous Winners


  • Emily Lordi (English)
  • Rena Robinson (Chemistry)


  • Melinda Aldrich (Medicine) and Jeffrey Blume (Biostatistics)
  • Velma McBride Murry (Education and Human Development, Health Policy)


  • Aimi Hamraie (Medicine, Health, and Society)
  • Nicole Joseph (Teaching and Learning)


  • Jessica Kennedy (Owen)
  • Herbert Marbury (Divinity)


  • Jason Grissom (Leadership, Policy, & Organizations)
  • Evelyn Patterson (Sociology)


  • Gilbert Gonzales (Health Policy)
  • Ebony O. McGee (Teaching & Learning) and William H. Robinson (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)