Skip to main content

Chemical Safety

Learn more about the chemical & laboratory Safety Program

Chemical Safety Officer contact

Mark Bogard

Assistant Director

phone: 936-8461 | fax 343-0251

Stephen Hopkins

VU Laboratory Compliance Program Safety Officer

phone: 343-3527 | fax 343-0251


chemical safety Committee

Committee Charge:

The Chemical Safety Committee (CSC) will ensure that chemical materials are used safely and in compliance with local, State of Tennessee, and federal regulations in research and teaching lab spaces and activities.

Committee Members:

  • Aaron Covey, facilities analyst, facilities/dean’s office
  • Andrea George, director of environmental health and safety, division of administration
  • Anthony Tharp, assistant dean, School of Medicine
  • Bridget Rogers (chair), associate professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, School of Engineering
  • Dmitry Koktysh, research assistant professor of chemistry, Arts and Sciences
  • Doug Horr, associate vice chancellor, office of audit risk and compliance
  • Fred Guengerich, professor of biochemistry, School of Medicine
  • Gary Sulikowski, professor or chemistry, Arts and Sciences
  • Guil Gualda, associate professor of earth and environmental sciences, Arts and Sciences
  • Jennifer Ufnar, research assistant professor of teaching and learning, Peabody
  • Kelsey Bahadursingh, manager of internal audit, office of audit risk and compliance
  • Kevin Warren, senior director of Vanderbilt environmental health and safety, VUMC
  • Larry Cox, Engineering and Science Building manager, facilities/dean’s office
  • Liane Moneta-Koehler, program manager, office of the vice provost for research
  • Ruth Nagareda, manager of compliance, office of audit risk and compliance
  • Tim Hanusa, professor of chemistry, Arts and Sciences
  • Yi Ren, assistant professor or biochemistry, School of Medicine