Skip to main content

Technology Review Standing Committee


This Committee reviews and monitors the activities of the Center for Technology Transfer and Commercialization for matters relating to the administration of the University Policy on Technology and Literary and Artistic Works, in accordance with the provisions for the administration of that policy.  The committee is chaired by a faculty member, and the majority of the members are faculty members without administrative appointments. The committee is consulted in advance concerning any material changes to the policy.

The committee serves as an appellate body advisory to the Chancellor (or the Chancellor’s designee) in the event a disagreement occurs between inventors or creators, or between inventors or creators, and the University, concerning the interpretation or application of the University’s policy and advisory to the Chancellor and the CEO of VUMC (or their respective designees) on disputes involving apportionment of ownership interests or relative shares of net income between the University and VUMC.  In cases in which the committee is unable to resolve the disagreement between the parties, the committee will forward its recommendation for a resolution to the Chancellor (or the Chancellor’s designee) for a final decision, or as applicable, to the persons responsible for the dispute resolution process between the University and VUMC.

Reports to: The Provost

2016-2017 Committee Members

Administrative/Ex Officio Members

These members have voting rights.

Ken Holroyd, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research

Ruby Shellaway (Ruza), Office of General Counsel                                                                         

Jeff Newman, Office of Contract & Research Administration

Trey Beasley, Treasurer

Alan Bentley, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Technology Transfer 

Faculty Members

Doug Fisher, Chair, School of Engineering

Rick Abramson, School of Medicine, Clinical

Karen M. Ardisson (Michelle), School of Nursing

Jeffrey Blume, School of Medicine, Clinical

Aaron Bowman, School of Medicine, Clinical

Douglas Clark, Peabody College

Benoit Dawant, School of Engineering

Josh Denny, School of Medicine, Clinical

Daniel Gervais, Law School

Andy Gokhale, School of Engineering

Katherine Hartman, School of Medicine, Clinical

Jens Meiler, College of Arts & Science

Steve Posavac, Owen School of Management

Larry Zwiebel, School of Medicine, Basic Sciences

TBD, School of Medicine, Clinical