Skip to main content

Digital Literacy Committee


Vanderbilt students should reach the end of their academic career equipped with the skills needed to thrive as well-informed citizens; this includes the ability to both consume and produce information in a thoughtful and reflexive way. In addition to the emphasis on standard written and oral communication skills that Vanderbilt students receive as part of their education, there is an increasing need to develop a strategic approach to teaching digital communication skills. The members of this committee are charged with (1) providing a definition of digital literacy that will apply to undergraduate, graduate and professional students in the context of their degree programs and professions, and (2) recommending curricular and co-curricular initiatives to facilitate the development of the digitally literate student.


John Sloop, associate provost for digital learning, professor of communication studies, Office of the Provost and College of Arts and Science; chair;

Clifford Anderson, associate university librarian for research and learning, Jean and Alexander Heard Library;

Kelly Christie, assistant dean, academic programs and student life, Owen Graduate School of Management;

Robert Grajewski, Evans Family Executive Director of the Innovation Center, Office of the Provost;

Julie Johnson, associate professor of the practice of computer science, director of undergraduate studies in computer science, School of Engineering;

Stacey Johnson, assistant director for educational technology, Center for Teaching; senior lecturer of Spanish, College of Arts and Science;

Kevin Leander, associate professor, Peabody College;

Melissa Mallon, director of Peabody Library, director of liaison and instruction services, Peabody Library;

Sara Manus, music librarian for public services, Jean and Alexander Heard Library;

Gayathri Narasimham, associate director of the Vanderbilt Institute for Digital Learning, Office of the Vice Provost for Learning and Residential Affairs;

Neil Osheroff, John G. Coniglio Chair in Biochemistry, professor of biochemistry, professor of medicine, School of Medicine;

Thomas Palmeri, professor of psychology, co-director of scientific computing, College of Arts and Science;

Lynn Ramey, associate professor of French, College of Arts and Science;

Doug Schmidt, associate chair, Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering, professor of computer science, professor of computer engineering, School of Engineering; and

Bill Smith, career coach, Career Center.

Upcoming Events