Skip to main content



Swahili is an official language of the Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda. It is also one of the official languages of the African Union. Swahili is spoken natively in several other countries: Burundi, DR Congo, Mozambique, Oman, and Rwanda. A variety of Swahili, Comorian, is spoken in the Comoros Islands. Swahili can be written in either Latin or Arabic characters. Its name proceeds from Arabic, meaning "language spoken by the people of the coast."  For further information about Swahili classes, contact Professor  Anne J Rotich 

Swahili Courses Spring 2023. 

Swahili 2023 Spring

Swahili Language Resources