Skip to main content

Slovene / Slovenian (Slovenščina)

Slovene is the official language of the Republic of Slovenia and the native language of nearly 2.4 million people. The largest Slovene populations in the United States are found in Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Illinois. Together with Croatian, Serbian, Macedonian, and Bulgarian, Slovene is part of the South Slavic branch of Indo-European languages. Slovene is unique among the Slavic languages for its conservation of the dual as a full grammatical form.

About Slovene

Centre for Slovene in Slovenia

Slovene at Cleveland State University

Learn Slovene online

Slovene for travelers

The Slovene alphabet

Slovene-Slovene dictionary

Slovene noun decliner



This page was prepared by Graduate Student Affiliate Steven B. Wenz and Vanesa Calpanchay