Skip to main content

DANISH (Dansk)

Danish is a language spoken by approximately 6 million people, principally in the Kingdom of Denmark. It is also taught as a mandatory school subject in the Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Iceland. There are several Danish language communities in Argentina, Canada, Germany, and the United States. Danish is a North Germanic Language and belongs to the East Norse dialect along with Swedish. Norwegian, Swedish, and Danish are mutually intelligible.

Standard Danish is based on the dialects spoken in and around Copenhagen. Danish, however, is divided into three main dialect groups: the insular Danish or ømål includes the Danish islands of Zealand, Funen, Lolland, Falster, and Møn; the Jutlandic or jysk which is divided into North, East, West, and South Jutlandic; and the Bornholmsk dialect or Bornholmian, which is the dialect of the island of Bornholm. The Bornholmian dialect's main feature is that it has kept the distinction between the three grammatical genders, whereas standard Danish has two genders and Western Jutlandic only one.

About Danish

Learn Danish online

Danish grammar online

Useful phrases

Online Danish-English/English-Danish dictionary

Online Danish-Danish dictionary




Online newspapers