Skip to main content

Eichman and Meiler elected AAAS fellows in 2021

Posted by on Friday, January 28, 2022 in News.

Congratulations to Brandt Eichman, William R. Kenan, Jr. Chair and professor of biological sciences and professor of biochemistry, and Jens Meiler, distinguished research professor of chemistry, on being elected 2021 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Eichman and Meiler are among seven Vanderbilt faculty who were recognized by their peers for their contributions to science.

Professor Eichman was selected for contributions to the field of structural cell biology, particularly for understanding the molecular and structural mechanisms of DNA replication and repair.

Professor Meiler was selected for contributions to the development and widespread dissemination of methods for determining protein structure and de novo design and engineering of proteins.

AAAS recognized 564 new fellows this year. The new fellows will be celebrated February 19 at the association’s Annual Meeting, which is convening in a hybrid format in Philadelphia and online.

Read more about Vanderbilt’s honorees.


Leave a Response

You must be logged in to post a comment