Skip to main content

Midori Lockett, Chief Community Impact Officer

Midori Lockett is the Chief Community Impact Officer for Community Relations. In this role, Lockett serves as a liaison between the Vanderbilt community and the local nonprofit sector. She directs the university's Community Impact Fund and builds relationships with community based organizations. 

Public service, nonprofit board leadership and volunteer engagement are the corner stones of Lockett’s professional life. A priority throughout her career has been to address the inequity in her community and to work strategically with other sectors to address these issues. 

Lockett came to Vanderbilt initially to produce special events, programs and “friend-raising” opportunities for the Office of the Chancellor. She has held numerous event and program management roles across the campus and returned to the Division of Government and Community Relations in 2015 as a Community Liaison. 

Prior to joining Vanderbilt, Lockett served in a public relations role for the Free Library of Philadelphia Foundation where she created special events and programs in the city’s diverse neighborhoods during a multi-year fundraising initiative called “Big Change.”  This campaign was rooted in public-private partnerships and helped to further her understanding of the impact that can be achieved through collaborative and collective community work.

A Nashville native, Lockett has an AB degree from Brown University and a Master’s from Drexel University with an emphasis in nonprofit management.  Additional work in Philadelphia includes a consultant practice helping numerous arts and cultural organizations with strategic planning.  Currently, she serves on several nonprofit boards and committees including vice chair of Nashville Shakespeare Festival, the board of Tennessee Conference on Social Welfare (TCSW) and the education council for the Frist Art Museum   She is also a member of Nashville CABLE and in the past served on the board, affiliated with the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, Power of Inclusion Awards Committee and the Athena Awards Committee.