Skip to main content

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Senior Day Speaker & Nichols-Chancellor Award Recipient

2018 Nichols-Chancellor's Medalist: TBD
Address:
  Cropped_KB
Time: 11:00 am - Noon (Doors open at 9:30 am)
Location: Memorial Gym
Topic: TBD

In 2006, Vanderbilt Law School graduate Ed Nichols and his wife, Janice, in honor of Edward Carmack and Lucile Hamby Nichols, created and endowed The Nichols-Chancellor’s Medal. The medal is one of the university’s highest honors and it is awarded to individuals who define the 21st century and exemplify the best qualities of the human spirit.  

This year, the Nichols-Chancellor's Medal is awarded to Ken Burns. A perennial figure on PBS, he is the creator, director and producer of numerous award-winning documentaries, including JazzCivil WarBaseballThe National Parks: America’s Best Idea and The Tenth Inning

 

 

Faculty Seminars

2017 Faculty Speakers Times: 2:00 pm and 3:15 pm
Location: Wilson Hall

UCLaunched in the Fall 2016 semester, University Courses is a cross-college teaching initiative that offers eligible students an opportunity to become immersed in innovative classes that tackle “big questions” though trans-institutional and multi-cultural learning. These courses leverage the natural synergies across Vanderbilt’s 10 schools and colleges, allowing faculty to reach beyond departmental boundaries.
 
This year, Faculty Seminars will sample four of the courses offered during this academic year. There will be an open Q&A session for the last 15 minutes of each session. No tickets are necessary. For a detailed list of speakers and topics, click here.

 

Additional Events

Senior Exhibition, Department of Art
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
E. Bronson Ingram Studio Art Center, Space 204 Gallery

Chemistry Department Graduation Reception
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Stevenson Center 7330
For more information, please contact Adam List (615-322-4895; adam.k.list@vanderbilt.edu)

Graduate School Open House and Reception
1:00 - 3:00 pm
Joe C. Davis Memorial Hall 202
For more information, please contact Jessica Parks-Piatt (615-875-8372; Jessica.w.parks-piatt@vanderbilt.edu)

Psychology & Human Development Graduation Reception
1:30 pm - 3:00 pm
Jesup-Hobbs
For more information, please contact Crystal Doochin (615-322-8440; crystal.doochin@vanderbilt.edu)

Law and Business Program Reception
*invitation only
2:00 - 3:00 pm
Law School
For more information, please contact Donna Pavlick (615-322-0019; donna.pavlick@law.vanderbilt.edu)

A & S History of Art Graduation Celebration
2:00 - 4:00 pm
Cohen Hall Atrium, 21st Ave.
For more information, contact Julia Kamasz (615-322-2831, julia.kamasz@vanderbilt.edu )

Special Education Graduation Celebration
2:30 – 3:30 pm
One Magnolia Circle 241
For more information, contact LaRashia Grafton (615-322-8168, larashia.grafton@vanderbilt.edu)

A&S Germanic & Slavic Majors Graduation Party
2:30 – 4:00 pm
123 Furman Hall
For more information, contact Sylvia Bosma (615-322-2611, sylvia.bosma@vanderbilt.edu)

A&S English Majors Cocktail Party
3:00 – 4:30 pm
Courtyard outside Benson Hall
For more information, contact Janis May (615-322-2276, janis.l.may@vanderbilt.edu)

A&S History Majors Reception
3:00- 4:30 pm
Benson Hall/Old Central Lawn
For more information, contact Heidi Welch (615-322-2575, heidi.welch@vanderbilt.edu)

Managerial Studies Program Paletas & Punch
3:00 - 5:00 pm
215 Calhoun
For more information, contact Michelle Olin (615-322-4021, michelle.e.olin@vanderbilt.edu)

The Center for Medicine, Health and Society (MHS) Pre-Commencement Awards Reception
3:00 - 5:00 pm
300 Calhoun Hall
For more information, contact Nadia Rahman (615-343-9643, nadia.rahman@vanderbilt.edu)

Graduate Reception for the Biological Sciences, Biology, Molecular Biology
3:00 - 4:30 pm
MRB III
For more information, contact Alicia Goostree (615-322-4287, Alicia.Goostree@vanderbilt.edu)

Law School Reception
3:00 - 4:30 pm
For degree candidates and their guests
For more information, contact Donna Pavlick, (615-343-4603, donna.pavlick@law.vanderbilt.edu)

Blair School of Music Senior Recognition Ceremony & Reception
3:00 pm
Turner Recital Hall
Reception following for graduates and their families in Turner Lobby
For more information, contact Pam Schneller (615-343-5614, pam.schneller@vanderbilt.edu)

Owen Awards Reception for degree candidates and their families
2:30 - 4:00 pm M.B.A., MSF, MAcc, and MMark graduates and guests
5:30 - 7:00 pm E.M.B.A. graduates and guests
Management Hall Lobby 
For more information, please contact Liz Scowden (615-322-3128, liz.scowden@owen.vanderbilt.edu)

School of Medicine MD Program Class Day
4:00 pm
Langford Auditorium
Reception following in the North Lobby of Light Hall
For more information, please contact Sarah Woodall (615-322-5007, sarah.c.woodall@vanderbilt.edu

School of Nursing Pinning Ceremony for May 2018 MSN and DNP Candidates
4:00 pm
Wightman Chapel, The Scarritt-Bennett Center
For more information, please contact Sarah Ramsey, (615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu

Peabody College of Education and Human Development Awards Ceremony
4:00 - 5:00 pm
Wyatt Center Rotunda and Lobby
For award recipients and their guests only
Reception to follow
For more information, please contact Dawn Hale, (615-322-8264, dawn.hale@vanderbilt.edu

School of Engineering Awards Ceremony for undergraduate degree candidates and their guests
4:00 pm
University Club
For more information, contact Burgess Mitchell (615-343-8061, burgess.mitchell@vanderbilt.edu)

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation Ceremony
4:30 - 6:00 pm
Student Life Center, Commodore Ballroom
For more information, please contact David Carlton (615-322-3326, david.carlton@vanderbilt.edu)

Commencement Reception for Graduating Biomedical Students
4:30 - 7:00 pm
3rd Floor Student Lounge of Light Hall
Hosted by VMAA and BRET Office
For more information, contact Will Comstock (343-7251, wil.comstock@vanderbilt.edu)

Blair School of Music Senior Showcase
5:00 pm
Turner Recital Hall
For more information, contact Pam Schneller (615-343-5614,  pam.schneller@vanderbilt.edu )

Peabody College Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations Graduation Reception
5:00 - 7:00 pm
Wyatt Atrium
For more information, contact Tammy Eidson (615-322-0891, tammy.eidson@vanderbilt.edu)

School of Nursing Reception
5:00 pm
Godchaux Hall, Living Room
Reception for degree candidates and their guests only
For more information, please contact Sarah Ramsey (615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu)

Divinity School Celebration Service
5:00 pm
Benton Chapel
For more information, please contact Victor Judge (615-343-3964, victor.judge@vanderbilt.edu)

Athletics Senior Recognition Service and Reception
4:00 - 5:00 pm
Multipurpose Athletic Facility
The ceremony will take place in a meeting room overlooking the indoor track.  There will be a reception immediately following with refreshments.
For more information, contact Alison Wenzel (615-343-5463, alison.wenzel@vanderbilt.edu)

Black Graduates Recognition Ceremony 
7:30 pm
Langford Auditorium
For more information, contact Jeff King (615-343-9039, jeff.s.king@vanderbilt.edu)