Skip to main content

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Senior Day Speaker & Nichols-Chancellor Award Recipient


2018 Nichols-Chancellor's Medalist:
Amal Clooney AClooneymini
Time: 11:00 am - Noon (Doors open at 9:30 am)
Location:
Memorial Gym
Topic: "The Pursuit of Justice and the Road Less Traveled"

In 2006, Vanderbilt Law School graduate Ed Nichols and his wife, Janice, in honor of Edward Carmack and Lucile Hamby Nichols, created and endowed The Nichols-Chancellor’s Medal. The medal is one of the university’s highest honors and it is awarded to individuals who define the 21st century and exemplify the best qualities of the human spirit.  

This year, the Nichols-Chancellor's Medal is awarded to Amal Clooney, a British human rights lawyer practicing at Doughty Street Chambers in London, where she specializes in international law and human rights.  She is also a Visiting Professor at Columbia Law School, where she teaches Human Rights.

 

Faculty Seminars

2018 Faculty Speakers Times: 2:00 - 3:00 pm and 3:15 - 4:15 pm
Location: Wilson Hall

UCLaunched in the Fall 2017 semester, University Courses is a cross-college teaching initiative that offers eligible students an opportunity to become immersed in innovative classes that tackle “big questions” though trans-institutional and multi-cultural learning. These courses leverage the natural synergies across Vanderbilt’s 10 schools and colleges, allowing faculty to reach beyond departmental boundaries.
 
This year, Faculty Seminars will sample four of the courses offered during this academic year. There will be an open Q&A session for the last 15 minutes of each session. No tickets are necessary. For a detailed list of speakers and topics, click here.

 

Additional Events

Arts & Science

Senior Exhibition, Department of Art
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
E. Bronson Ingram Studio Art Center, Space 204 Gallery
For more information, contact Martha Dale (615-343-7241, martha.l.dale@vanderbilt.edu)

Chemistry Department Graduation Reception
Noon - 1:00 pm
Stevenson Center 7330
For more information, contact Adam List (615-322-4895,  adam.k.list@vanderbilt.edu)

A&S German, Russian and East European Studies Graduation Party
2:30 – 4:00 pm
123 Furman Hall
For more information, contact Sylvia Bosma (615-322-2611, sylvia.bosma@vanderbilt.edu)

Graduate Reception for the majors of the Department of Biological Sciences: Molecular and Cellular Biology; Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology; and Biological Sciences
3:00 - 4:30 pm
MRB III Lobby
For more information, contact Patricia McCleskey (615-322-4287, patricia.a.mccleskey@vanderbilt.edu )

A&S English Majors Cocktail Party
3:00 – 4:30 pm
Courtyard outside Benson Hall
For more information, contact Jeana Poindexter (615-322-2276, jeana.poindexter@vanderbilt.edu)

A&S History Majors Reception
3:00- 4:30 pm
Benson Hall/Old Central Lawn
For more information, contact Heidi Welch (615-322-2575, heidi.welch@vanderbilt.edu)

The Center for Medicine, Health and Society (MHS) Pre-Commencement Awards Reception
3:00 - 5:00 pm
300 Calhoun Hall
For more information, contact Lisa Hawkins (615-343-9643, mhs@vanderbilt.edu)


 

Blair School of Music

Senior Recognition Ceremony & Reception
3:00 pm
Turner Recital Hall
Reception following for graduates and their families in Turner Lobby
For more information, contact Pam Schneller (615-343-5614, pam.schneller@vanderbilt.edu )

Senior Showcase
5:00 pm
Turner Recital Hall
For more information, contact Pam Schneller (615-343-5614, pam.schneller@vanderbilt.edu )


 

School of Engineering

School of Engineering Awards Ceremony for undergraduate degree candidates and their guests
4:00 pm
University Club
For more information, contact Burgess Mitchell (615-343-8061,  burgess.mitchell@vanderbilt.edu)


 

Peabody Colloge

Psychology & Human Development Graduation Reception
1:30 - 3:00 pm
Jesup-Hobbs
For more information, contact Crystal Doochin (615-322-8440, crystal.doochin@vanderbilt.edu)

Special Education Graduation Celebration
2:30 – 3:30 pm
One Magnolia Circle 241
For more information, contact Al Brady (615-322-8195, al.brady@vanderbilt.edu)

Peabody College of Education and Human Development Awards Ceremony
4:00 - 5:00 pm
Wyatt Center Rotunda and Lobby
For award recipients and their guests only - Reception to follow
For more information, contact Dawn Hale, (615-322-8264, dawn.hale@vanderbilt.edu)

Peabody College Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations Graduation Reception
5:00 - 7:00 pm
Wyatt Atrium
For more information, contact Tammy Eidson (615-322-0891,  tammy.eidson@vanderbilt.edu )


 

Graduate School

Graduate School Open House and Reception
1:00 - 3:00 pm
Joe C. Davis Memorial Hall, Room 202, Alumni Hall 
For more information, contact Irene Wallrich (615-343-7030, Irene.l.wallrich@vanderbilt.edu)


 

Law School

Law and Business Program Reception
*invitation only
2:00 - 3:00 pm
Law School
For more information, contact Rachel Harrell (615-322-3966, rachel.harrell@vanderbilt.edu)

Law School Reception
3:00 - 4:30 pm
For degree candidates and their guests
For more information, contact Donna Pavlick, (615-343-4603,  donna.pavlick@law.vanderbilt.edu )


 

School of Medicine

School of Medicine MD Program Class Day
4:00 pm
Langford Auditorium
Reception following in the North Lobby of Light Hall
For more information, contact Sarah Woodall (615-322-5007,  sarah.c.woodall@vanderbilt.edu)

Commencement Reception for Graduating Biomedical Students
4:30 - 7:00 pm
3rd Floor Student Lounge of Light Hall
Hosted by VMAA and BRET Office
For more information, contact Wil Comstock (615-343-7251, wil.comstock@vanderbilt.edu)


 

School of Nursing

School of Nursing Pinning Ceremony for May 2018 MSN and DNP Candidates
4:00 pm
Wightman Chapel, The Scarritt-Bennett Center
For more information, contact Sarah Ramsey (615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu)

School of Nursing Reception
5:00 pm
Bennett Hall Social Rooms, Scarritt-Bennett Center
Reception for degree candidates and their guests only
For more information, contact Sarah Ramsey (615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu)


 

Owen Graduate School of Management

Owen Awards Reception for Degree Candidates and Their Families
3:00 - 4:30 pm M.B.A., MSF, MAcc, and MMark graduates and guests
5:30 - 7:00 pm E.M.B.A. graduates and guests
Management Hall Lobby 
For more information, contact Liz Scowden (615-322-3128, liz.scowden@owen.vanderbilt.edu)


 

Additional Receptions

Athletics Senior Recognition Service and Reception
4:00 - 5:00 pm
Multipurpose Athletic Facility
The ceremony will take place in a meeting room overlooking the indoor track.  There will be a reception immediately following with refreshments.
For more information, contact Alison Wenzel (615-343-5463, alison.wenzel@vanderbilt.edu)

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation Ceremony
4:30 - 6:00 pm
Student Life Center, Commodore Ballroom
For more information, contact Todd Graham (615-322-3326,  tr.graham@vanderbilt.edu)

Black Graduates Recognition Ceremony 
7:30 pm
Langford Auditorium
For more information, contact Jeff King (615-343-9039, jeff.s.king@vanderbilt.edu)