Skip to main content

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Nichols-Chancellor Award Recipient & Senior Day Speaker

2019 Nichols-Chancellor's Medalist: Venus Williams
Time: 11:00 am - Noon (Doors open at 9:30 am)
Location:
Memorial Gym
Topic: "Remarks by Venus Williams"

In 2006, Vanderbilt Law School graduate Ed Nichols and his wife, Janice, in honor of Edward Carmack and Lucile Hamby Nichols, created and endowed The Nichols-Chancellor’s Medal. The medal is one of the university’s highest honors, and it is awarded to individuals who define the 21st century and exemplify the best qualities of the human spirit. This year, the Nichols-Chancellor's Medal is awarded to Venus Williams, Tennis Champion and CEO, EleVen and VStarr Interiors. Venus Williams is an international tennis champion, entrepreneur, and best-selling author. 

 

Faculty Seminars

2019 Faculty Speakers Times: 2:00 - 3:00 pm and 3:15 - 4:15 pm
Location: Wilson Hall

UCLaunched in the Fall 2017 semester, University Courses is a cross-college teaching initiative that offers eligible students an opportunity to become immersed in innovative classes that tackle “big questions” though trans-institutional and multi-cultural learning. These courses leverage the natural synergies across Vanderbilt’s 10 schools and colleges, allowing faculty to reach beyond departmental boundaries.
 
Faculty Seminars will sample four of the courses offered during this academic year. There will be an open Q&A session for the last 15 minutes of each session. No tickets are necessary. For a detailed list of speakers and topics, click here.

 

Additional Events

Arts & Science

Senior Exhibition, Department of Art
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
E. Bronson Ingram Studio Art Center, Space 204 Gallery
For more information, contact Martha Dale (615-343-7241, martha.l.dale@vanderbilt.edu)

Chemistry Department Graduation Reception
Noon - 1:00 pm
Stevenson Center 7330
For more information, contact Adam List (615-322-4895,  adam.k.list@vanderbilt.edu)

A&S Cinema & Media Arts Graduation Party
2:30 – 4:00 pm
Digital Humanities Lab/Center; Buttrick Hall 3rd floor
For more information, contact Scott Juengel (615-343-8724, scott.j.juengel@vanderbilt.edu)

A&S German, Russian and East European Studies Graduation Party
2:30 – 4:00 pm
123 Furman Hall
For more information, contact Sylvia Bosma (615-322-2611, sylvia.bosma@vanderbilt.edu)

Biological Sciences Graduation Reception
3:00 - 4:30 pm
MRB III Lobby
For more information, contact Patricia McCleskey (615-936-3651, patricia.a.mccleskey@vanderbilt.edu )

A&S English Majors Cocktail Party
3:00 – 4:30 pm
Courtyard outside Benson Hall
For more information, contact Jeana Poindexter (615-322-2276, jeana.poindexter@vanderbilt.edu)

A&S History Majors Reception
3:00- 4:30 pm
Benson Hall/Old Central Lawn
For more information, contact Heidi Welch (615-322-2577, heidi.welch@vanderbilt.edu)

The Center for Medicine, Health and Society (MHS) Pre-Commencement Awards Reception
3:00 - 5:00 pm
300 Calhoun Hall
For more information, contact Marissa Potts (615-343-0916, mhs@vanderbilt.edu)


 

Blair School of Music

Senior Recognition Ceremony & Reception
3:00 pm
Turner Recital Hall
Reception following for graduates and their families in Turner Lobby
For more information, contact Pam Schneller (615-343-5614, pam.schneller@vanderbilt.edu )

Senior Showcase
5:00 pm
Turner Recital Hall
For more information, contact Pam Schneller (615-343-5614, pam.schneller@vanderbilt.edu )


 

School of Engineering

School of Engineering Senior Awards Ceremony for undergraduate degree candidates and their guests
*invitation only
4:00 pm
Engineering and Science Building (ESB) room 044/048
For more information, contact Burgess Mitchell (615-343-8061 burgess.mitchell@vanderbilt.edu)


 

Peabody College

Psychology & Human Development Graduation Reception
12:0 - 3:30 pm
Jesup-Hobbs
For more information, contact Ally Armstead (615-343-4963, ally.armstead@vanderbilt.edu)

Special Education Graduation Celebration
2:00 – 3:00 pm
One Magnolia Circle 241
For more information, contact Al Brady (615-322-8195, al.brady@vanderbilt.edu)

Peabody College of Education and Human Development Awards Ceremonies

1:00 - 2:00 pm -- Professional and Graduate Student Awards Ceremony
Wyatt Center Rotunda and Lobby
Reception to follow

3:30 - 4:30 pm -- Undergraduate Awards Ceremony
Wyatt Center Rotunda and Lobby
Reception to follow

For award recipients and their guests only
For more information, contact Monique Robinson-Nichols, (615-343-6947, monique.robinson-nichols@vanderbilt.edu)

Peabody College Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations Graduation Reception
5:00 - 7:00 pm
Wyatt Atrium
For more information, contact Tammy Eidson (615-322-0891,  tammy.eidson@vanderbilt.edu )


 

  Law School

Law and Business Program Reception
*invitation only
2:00 - 3:00 pm
Law School
For more information, contact Rachel Harrell (615-322-3966, rachel.harrell@vanderbilt.edu)

Law School Reception
3:00 - 4:30 pm
For degree candidates and their guests
For more information, contact Donna Pavlick, (615-343-4603,  donna.pavlick@law.vanderbilt.edu )


 

School of Medicine

School of Medicine MD Program Class Day
4:00 pm
Langford Auditorium
Reception following in the North Lobby of Light Hall
For more information, contact Sarah Woodall (615-322-6868,  sarah.c.woodall@vanderbilt.edu)


 

School of Nursing

School of Nursing Pinning Ceremony for May 2019 MSN and DNP Candidates
4:00 pm
Wightman Chapel, The Scarritt-Bennett Center
For more information, contact Sarah Ramsey (615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu)

School of Nursing Reception
5:00 pm
Vanderbilt School of Nursing
Reception for degree candidates and their guests only
For more information, contact Sarah Ramsey (615-343-3334, sarah.ramsey@vanderbilt.edu)


 

Owen Graduate School of Management

Owen Awards Reception for Degree Candidates and Their Families
3:00 - 4:30 pm M.B.A., MSF, MAcc, and MMark graduates and guests
Management Hall Lobby
For more information, contact Liz Scowden (615-322-3128, liz.scowden@owen.vanderbilt.edu)

Owen Celebration Receptions at Kimpton Aertson
4:30 - 6:30 pm MAcc, 17th Floor
4:45-6:45 pm MSF, Robbins Room
5:30-7:30 pm EMBA, Ballroom
For more information, contact Liz Scowden (615-322-3128, liz.scowden@owen.vanderbilt.edu)


 

Additional Receptions

Raíces y Sueños: Latinx Graduates Celebration
1:00 – 3:00 pm
Student Life Center, Commodore Ballroom
For more information, contact Kristen Lemaster (615-875-1709, kristen.k.lemaster@vanderbilt.edu)

Athletics Senior Recognition Service and Reception
4:00 - 5:00 pm
Multipurpose Athletic Facility
The ceremony will take place in a meeting room overlooking the indoor track.  There will be a reception immediately following with refreshments.
For more information, contact Alison Wenzel (615-343-5463, alison.wenzel@vanderbilt.edu)

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation Ceremony
4:00 - 6:00 pm
Student Life Center, Commodore Ballroom
For more information, contact Todd Graham (615-322-3326,  tr.graham@vanderbilt.edu)

Black Graduates Recognition Ceremony 
7:00 pm
Langford Auditorium
For more information, contact Nicole Malveaux (615 343-7480nicole.m.malveaux@vanderbilt.edu)