Skip to main content


August 6, 2018   Chemistry Department's REU Student Featured in VUMC Reporter Read the full article here.

August 1, 2018   Assistant Professor Steven Townsend Selected as the Recipient of the 2018 Ruth A. Lawrence Investigator Award for Research in Human Milk Science

July 12, 2018   Tommy Howe, Longtime Scientific Glassblower for Chemistry Department, Passes Away Read the full article here.

July 11, 2018   Assistant Professor Steven Townsend's Research on Breast Milk on the Cover of Chemical & Engineering News Read the full article here.

townsend research

June 18, 2018   Professor Michael Stone Awarded NIH Funding to Study DNA Adduct-Induced Mutagenesis The National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), one of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), has awarded a grant to Prof. Stone to delineate both chemistry and biology arising from dietary exposures to aflatoxin B1 (AFB1). This mycotoxin contributes to the etiology of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), a major cause of mortality worldwide. The etiology of HCC is complex, including infection by hepatitis B virus (HBV) and chronic dietary exposures to AFB1. AFB1 DNA adducts undergo chemical transformations once formed, e.g., unmasking new chemical functionality that may differentially modulate DNA repair and replication. Understanding structure-activity relationships delineating the chemistry of these lesions, their structural alterations to DNA, and interactions with DNA processing enzymes will translate into an understanding as to how their chemistry modulates biological processing; which may drive characteristic mutagenic signatures in HCC. Prof. Stone's work may also facilitate the identification of biomarkers for dietary exposures to AFB1 and identify targets for chemotherapeutic intervention in cancer.

June 1, 2018   Professor Prasad Polavarapu Releases New Book, Chiral Analysis Dr. Polavarapu releases new book, Chiral Analysis: Advances in Spectroscopy, Chromatography and Emerging Methods. Buy the book here.

May 23, 2018   Professor Brian Bachmann Develops New Process to Identify Personalized Cancer Drugs Derived from Nature Read the full article here.

May 17, 2018   Professor John McLean and Associate Professor Renã Robinson Named as SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows for 2018-19 Read the full article here.

May 14, 2018   2017-18 Joesten Science Volunteer Award Winners Announced Congratulations to Samantha Chiang, Nicholas Hyman, and Daniel Shaykevich for winning the 2017-18 Joesten Science Volunteer Award. This award recognizes the highest level of dedication to K-12 Science Outreach activities.

May 11, 2018   Congratulations to All Our of Graduating Chemistry Students Congratulations to our 2018 Undergraduate and Graduate Students. We wish you good luck in your future endeavours! Full list of graduating students below:

Undergraduate Students:
Marie Armbruster (ChBE)
Justin Badgett
John Cliburn
Linda Cui
Franklin Gong (ChBE)
Elsabet Haile
Nicholas Hyman (ChBE)
Collin Hong
Ryan Hunt
Nicole Jenkinson (ChBE)
Choong-Won Jin
Ying Jin (Fall Grad)
Shannon Malone (Pbdy)
Muhammad Mahmood (Suhaib)
Hope Pan (Fall Grad)
Matthew Park (Pbdy)
Hamza Patel
Thomas Plaxco (Pbdy)
J. Alex Pulliam
Saquib Rahman
Syed Raza
Hanna Roenfanz
Grant Steelman
Gregory White

Graduates Students:
Dorothy Ackerman
Suzanne Batiste
Robert Davis
James Dodds
Amanda Duran
Darwin Fu
Michael Goodman
Bian Li
Christine Markwalter

April 30, 2018   The Beckman Scholars Program Announces Their 2018-2019 Scholars 

berg and townsend            powers and hiller
       Lawrence Berg and his mentor, Dr. Steven Townsend                                     Carter Powers and his mentor, Dr. Julián Hillyer

The Beckman Scholars Program at Vanderbilt is pleased to name our 2018-2019 Scholars.

Lawrence Berg is a rising senior from Flowood, Mississippi who is triple majoring in Chemistry, Engineering Science, and Political Science with a minor in Environmental Engineering. Lawrence will be mentored by Dr. Steven Townsend, Assistant Professor of Chemistry. Dr. Townsend has been on the faculty at Vanderbilt since 2014 and has developed an interdisciplinary program in glycobiology and organic synthesis.

Carter Powers is a rising junior majoring in Molecular and Cellular Biology, with a minor in Chemistry. Carter will be mentored by Dr. Julián Hillyer, Chancellor's Faculty Fellow and Associate Professor of Biological Sciences. Dr. Hillyer is an expert in the biology of pathogens in the mosquito hemocoel, and he has established a program that examines aspects of immunology and circulatory physiology that limit systemic infections.

Lawrence and Carter were selected by the 2018 VU BSP Selection Committee which evaluated each applicant's academic accomplishment, a short research proposal and public presentation, and an interview. Awardees are selected based on their future promise as undergraduate researchers, and the role that training in research will play in their long-term career plans.

April 27, 2018   Department Chair, David Cliffel, Endowed as Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair Congratulations to David Cliffel who was endowed at an April 25th ceremony. Read the full article here.

April 24, 2018   2018 Undergraduate Awards in Chemistry Winners Announced Congratulations to the following winners:
-Excellence in Teaching Award: Dr. Lauren Buchanan
-Donald E. Pearson Award: Grant William Steelman
-Outstanding Chemistry Research Award: Marie Elizabeth Armbruster
-Organic Chemistry Award: Linda Leyi Cui
-Thomas W. Martin Award: Nicholas James Hyman
-Robert V. Dilts Award: Saquib Rahman
-Mark M. Jones Award: Nicole Marie Jenkinson
-Merck Index Award: Hope Pan
-2018 Undergraduate Award in Physical Chemistry: Kathryn Segner

April 18, 2018     Professor Jens Meiler's Paper on the Crystal Structure for Neuropeptide Y Receptor Published in Nature Journal Jens Meiler’s team determined the first crystal structure for a neuropeptide Y receptor, deciphering the thousands of carbon, oxygen, nitrogen and other atoms involved with it and how they bind to one another. Read the full article here.

April 17, 2018   Assistant Professor Steven Townsend Selected to Present His Research at ACS's 2018 Academic Young Investigator's Symposium in Boston Congratulations to Steven Townsend for being selected to present his research at the American Chemical Society's 2018 Academic Young Investigator's Symposium in Boston. Thanks to Carmelo Rizzo for nominating him for this opportunity.

April 4, 2018   VSVS Receives Best Collaborative Program Award from the Vanderbilt Awards for Leadership Excellence The Vanderbilt Student Volunteers for Science received the award for fostering great partnerships with Head Magnet Middle School to stimulate interest in science within the Nashville community and for co-organizing the Head Magnet Science Carnival to inspire its students to view science in new ways. More information here.

March 23, 2018   Susan Verberne-Sutton Receives Mentorship Award This award recognizes the individual VUceptor who demonstrated outstanding mentorship skills with regard to either their partner or their VUceptees over the course of the Fall semester. More information here.

February 20, 2018   Sandra Rosenthal Selected as 2018 Herty Medalist  Sandra Rosenthal, the Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Chemistry and director of the Vanderbilt Institute for Nanoscale Science and Engineering, has been named the winner of this year’s Charles H. Herty Medal by the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society. The award is given to recognize outstanding chemists in the Southeast U.S. who have made significant contributions to their field.
     Rosenthal is being recognized for her development of nanocrystal probes for neuroscience and white-light emitting nanocrystals as well as her contributions to improving STEM education across Tennessee. Read the full article here.

Archived News