Skip to main content

University Diversity Council

The University Diversity Council (previously the Interim Chancellor’s Diversity Council) is charged with advocating for equity, diversity and inclusion across all areas of the university and serving as a guide to Interim Chancellor and Provost Susan R. Wente to build on existing strengths and identify areas of growth. The council is also charged with making periodic strategic recommendations to the interim chancellor on ways in which the university can further inclusive excellence among faculty, staff, students and postdoctoral fellows and promote a welcoming and respectful environment.

The council is co-chaired by Dr. André L. Churchwell, vice chancellor for equity diversity and inclusion and chief diversity officer, and William H. Robinson, vice provost for academic advancement. The council includes members from across the Vanderbilt community (i.e., faculty, staff, students and postdoctoral fellows) who serve ex officio representing various organizations or who serve at-large.

2019-20 University Diversity Council

Committee Co-Chairs

  • André L. Churchwell, vice chancellor for equity, diversity and inclusion
  • William H. Robinson, vice provost for academic advancement


Xiu Cravens, associate professor of the practice of educational policy, associate dean for international affairs, Peabody CollegeAt large
Stephanie Devane-Johnson, associate professor of nursing, School of NursingAt large
Forrest E. Harris Sr., professor of the practice of ministry, director of the Kelly Miller Smith Institute on the African American Church, Divinity SchoolAt large
William Luis, Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of Spanish, College of Arts and Scienceex officio, Faculty Senate Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee chair
Terry Maroney, professor of law and professor of medicine, health and society, Law SchoolAt large
Kimberly Pace, professor for the practice of communication, Owen Graduate School of ManagementAt large
Jose Sibaja, associate professor of trumpet, Blair SchoolAt large


Jalen Blue, communications relationship manager, Division of CommunicationsAt large
Marsha Carter, administrative support professional, Division of AdministrationAt large
Dawnyell Fletcher, assistant director for academic support, AthleticsAt large
Denise Johnson, accounting manager, Office of Contract and Grant Accountingex officio, USAC Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Ad-Hoc Committee chair
Yasmine Mukahal, talent acquisition team lead, Human ResourcesAt large
Joanne Wang, director of professional and master’s programs, School of EngineeringAt large

Undergraduate, graduate and professional students

Kelsea Best, graduate student, earth and environmental sciencesex officio, Vanderbilt Graduate Student Council president
Frances Burton, undergraduate student, economics and Spanishex officio, Vanderbilt Student Government president
Olivia Dominguez, undergraduate student, medicine, health and societyex officio, Multicultural Leadership Council president
Gabrielle Dyson, undergraduate student, human and organizational development and medicine, health and societyex officio, Vanderbilt National Pan-Hellenic Council president
Tamee E. Livermont, professional student, public healthAt large
Rachel Miles, undergraduate student, oboe performanceex officio, Vanderbilt Interfaith Council president
Travis Williams, graduate student, theology and theological studiesex officio, Organization of Black Graduate and Professional Students president

Postdoctoral Fellows

Cole Zmurchok, postdoctoral fellow, physics and astronomyex officio, Vanderbilt Postdoctoral Association senior co-chair
Carlyn Mueller, postdoctoral fellow, human and organizational developmentAt large