Skip to main content

How do I let students self-enroll into groups?

Self-enrollment allows users to enroll in groups on their own. Use this option when you want users to choose their own group members or to be a part of a group on a topic that interests them.

Users can self-enroll in groups by clicking the Choose Group link beside the name of a group category set up for self-enrollment. A link displays at the top of the user’s Groups page when self-enrollment is available.

If a group is full, the Members column displays the total number of group members in red with “(Full)” beside it. If a learner wants to leave a group that they self-enrolled in before the date specified by the Set Self Enrollment Expiry Date option (if selected), on the My Groups page, learners can click Leave Group if the option is configured.

Clicking the capacity marker or the total listed in the Members column opens the Group Members pop-up, which contains a list of current group members. You cannot click empty groups.

For a printable & shareable PDF version of this resource, click here.

 

1) On the Manage Groups page, click New Category.

 

2) Enter a Category Name and Description.

3) Select one of the following options from the Enrollment Type drop-down list:
Groups of # – Self Enrollment
# of Groups – Self Enrollment
# of Groups, Capacity of # – Self Enrollment

 

4) Click Save.