Skip to main content

NCAA – Thank You


Thank You


 I would like to  thank the NCAA Board for their generous support and for allowing Vanderbilt the opportunity the host this conference. Particular thanks go to both Amy Hauft and Jim Hopfensberger for their thoughtful input and wisdom in our planning efforts.

Thank you to the many co-sponsors who made this all possible. Special thanks go to our Arts and Science Dean’s Office and the Curb Center for Art, Enterprise, and Public Policy for their generous support, as well as  the History of Art, Department of Theater, Cinema & Media Arts and The Fine Arts Gallery. I would also like to thank Tennessee Sate University and Watkins College of Art, Design & Film for their contributions to our program. I would also like to recognize the Frist Center for the Visual Arts for their generous open arms to our membership.

Special thanks also go to the Department of Art faculty members and staff for their input and contributions, in particular, Jana Harper for her thoughts in the initial planning stages.

Finally, I leave the most important acknowledgements to those who have contributed beyond my expectations. As you can imagine, a conference like this cannot occur without the intensity of time and thought by those who are too often left behind the scenes. Without my colleagues and collaborators, Heather Rippetoe, from the Curb Center, and Jerry Phillips and Martha Dale, from our department, I would have been lost. I give them a very heartfelt thank you for making this all happen and for helping in a way that was always fun and enjoyable and without complaint.

Thank you all immensely.


Mel Ziegler