Skip to main content

AVBA Leadership & Volunteering


We are looking for volunteers to serve on four different AVBA Committees, each with a different area of focus. Click here to read about each committee. If you are interested in getting involved, please complete the form below.


AVBA Leadership


Valerie Williams, BE'95

Cane Ridge, TN


University Initiatives Co-Chair  

Alex Atkinson, BE'96, MDV'01

Nashville, TN


Immediate Past President  

Dr. Tamara Baynham, BE'93

Bowie, MD


Outreach and Community Co-Chair  

Elaine Houston Boyd, BE'83

Hendersonville, TN


Outreach and Communications Co-Chair  

Fred Henley, JD'89

Richardson, TX


Programming Co-Chair  

Geoff Hutchinson, BA'10

Brooklyn, NY



Scholarship and Philanthropy Co-Chair  

Byron King, BE'94

Missouri City, TX


Programming Co-Chair  

Willie Maul, BE'97

Nashville, TN



Scholarship and Philanthropy Chair  

Karen Jefferson Morrison, BS'82

Columbus, OH


University Initiatives Co-Chair  

Marcus Taylor, BE'08

Milwaukee, WI


To learn more, visit the Association of Vanderbilt Black Alumni page.