Skip to Content

Vanderbilt International Office

Vanderbilt International Office

Home > Travel > Restricted Regions List

Restricted Regions List

Student travel is restricted to the following countries/regions:

  • All countries currently under a U.S. Department of State Travel Warning*, listed here.

    Note: Travel to Lwala, Kenya; Mexico; and Israel may not require a full SARAC review. Please contact VIO
  • Cuba:  Faculty, staff and students who plan to travel to Cuba should contact VIO
  • Liberia
  • Guinea
  • Sierra Leone 

Students or student groups (including faculty-led) who wish to travel to a country referenced above must submit a “Request for Exception to Travel” to the Study Abroad Risk Assessment Committee (SARAC) for review.  Please see the Student International Travel Policy or contact VIO for details and forms (ext. 2-3444).

Please note that locations may also be added to the list on an as-needed basis, should unexpected changes occur related to the level of risk in a country.