Skip to Content


Home > People



VIIBRE Leadership

John P. Wikswo, Ph.D.

Founding Director  
Gordon A. Cain University Professor  
A. B. Learned Professor of Living State Physics
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
Professor of Physics

David E. Cliffel, Ph.D.

Deputy Director, Electrochemical Sensors and Biosensors
Professor of Chemistry

M. Shane Hutson, Ph.D.

Deputy Director, Biophotonics, Biomechanics and Toxicology
Associate Professor of Physics

John A. McLean, Ph.D.

Deputy Director, Structural Mass Spectrometry and Omni-Omics
Director, Center for Innovative Technology
Stevenson Professor of Chemistry

Christina C. Marasco, Ph.D.

Deputy Director, Education and Professional Development
Director, Systems Biology and Bioengineering Undergraduate Research Experience (SyBBURE Searle)
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Biomedical Engineering

Technical Staff

Clayton M. Britt
Research Assistant

Gregory B. Gerken
Research and Development Engineer

Ronald S. Reiserer
Laboratory Manager

Philip C. Samson
Senior Research and Development Engineer

David K. Schaffer
Research and Development Engineer and Manager
VIIBRE Microfabrication Core

Administrative Staff

Don A. Berry, Coordinator, Systems Support

Marilyn A. Brandon, Administrative Assistant

Cheryl D. Cosby, Administrative Assistant

Sarazen Haile Kokodynsky, Grants Manager

Allison Price, Research Coordinator