Vanderbilt Institute of Chemical Biology

 

 

Upcoming events

at the VICB

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VICB 2016-2017 Fall Winter Seminar Schedule

 

 

Fall 2016
Seminar Schedule


Andrew Mesecar

Purdue University

 

"Selective (Yin) and Broad-Spectrum (Yang) Targeting of Coronavirus Proteases"

 

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

Key Lecture Points

View Flyer

David Sweatt

Vanderbilt University

 

"Targeting the Epigenome for Cognitive Enhancement" 

 

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

View Flyer

Christian Melander

NC State University

 

"Antibiotic Adjuvants Based Upon Nitrogen Dense Marine Alkaloids"  

 

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

View Flyer

Zhiqiang An

UT Health science center, houston

 

Lecture #1 This Week

 

"Chemistry and Biology of the Echinocandin Family of Antifungal Drugs"

 

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points
View Flyer

David Craik

University of queensland, australia

 

Lecture #2 This Week

 

"Cyclic peptides in plants and animals and their applications in drug design"

 

Friday, September 30, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

View Flyer

Jack Taunton

UC - San francisco

 

"Targeting Protein Biogenesis as a Therapeutic Strategy for Cancer"

 

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

Jeff Conn

Vanderbilt university

 

"Allosteric Modulators of Muscarinic Acetylcholine Receptors as a Novel Approach for Treatment of Schizophrenia"

 

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

John Jay Schneekloth, Jr.

NIH, center for cancer research

 

"Targeting Structurally and Functionally Diverse Nucleic Acids with Druglike Small Molecules" 

 

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

Research Topics

Daniel Nomura

uc berkeley

 

"Using Chemoproteomic and Metabolomic Platforms to Map Drivers of Human Disease"

 

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

Tarun Kapoor

Rockefeller university

 

"Leveraging Resistance to Uncover Mechanisms of Action of Drugs and New Chemical Probes"

 

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

Anthony Kossiakoff

university of chicago

 

"Modifying Biological Function Using Conformational Trapping By Customized Synthetic Antibodies"

 

Seminar Co-Sponsored by the Center for Structural Biology (CSB)

 

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

Leonard Rome

UClA

 

"Vault Nanoparticles for Immuno-Oncology and Therapeutic Vaccines"

 

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

Samie Jaffrey

Cornell University

 

"Imaging RNA and RNA Biology Using RNA Mimics of Green Fluorescent Protein"

 

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

Douglas Green

St. jude children's research hospital

 

"LC3-Associated Phagocytosis: Two Ancient Pathways Converge on Innate Immunity, Inflammation, and Aging"

 

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

View Key Lecture Points

  Winter-Spring 2017
Seminar Schedule

Craig Lindsley

Vanderbilt university

 

Title: TBA  

 

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

Natalie Ahn

uc boulder

 

Title: TBA  

 

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

Jonathan Ellman

Yale university

 

Title: TBA 

 

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

Abigail Doyle

Princeton University

 

Title: TBA  

 

Co-Hosted by the Department of Chemistry (Ingersoll Lecture)

 

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

Location TBA

 

Lorraine Gudas

Cornell University

 

Title: TBA  

 

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

John McLean

Vanderbilt university

 

Title: TBA  

 

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

Matthew Bogyo

stanford University

 

Title: TBA   

 

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

David Aronoff

vanderbilt university

 

Title: TBA  

 

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

Scott Snyder

University of chicago

 

Title: TBA   

 

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

Tomas Cihlar

Gilead sciences

 

Title: TBA   

 

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

Thomas Bernhardt

harvard medical school

 

Title: TBA   

 

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

Jon Clardy

harvard medical school

 

Title: TBA   

 

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

Maurine Linder

cornell university

 

Title: TBA   

 

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

Martin Burke

university of illinois

 

Title: TBA   

 

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

Peter Kim

stanford university

 

Title: TBA   

 

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

12:15 P.M. — 1:15 P.M.

1220 MRB III

 

TwitterYouTube

 

The Vanderbilt Institute of Chemical Biology, 896 Preston Building, Nashville, TN 37232-6304, phone 866.303 VICB (8422), fax 615 936 3884
Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action. Copyright © 2014 by Vanderbilt University Medical Center

  • Areas of Interest