

## VANDERBILT VINIVERSITY STAFF ADVISORY COUNCIL



## Meeting Minutes: Tuesday, June 12, 2018 **SLC, Board of Trust Room**

#### **Present:**

Anderson, Katherine Balthrop, Merry Barrow, Terri Biqiku, Laurel Brassil, John Brooks, Kay Caldwell, Caroline Carlson, Robin Cooley, Emma Cruise-Streat, Kirra Daughtdrill, Latrice Dixon, Michele Fann, Drew Fields, Craig Hall, Andy Harbin, Rachel Heaton, Ashley Higgins, Ed Hill, Debbie Hughey, Jasen Johnson, Judy Jones. Eric Karls, Aletha King, Amanda Little, Geoff Lord, Sara Loudon. Jeff Mandeville, Jenny

McDaniel, Jon-Michael Meadows, Shelley Pickert, Donald Pring, Michael Rauh, Jonathan Richter, Andy Ruiz, Carlos Sanchez, Monica Scott, Carjamin Sefcik, Stephanie Sims. Beth Smothers, Natalia Sprague, Megan Stanard, Ray Taylor, Susan Turney, Kerrie Wachter, Michelle Williams, Tara Wocher, Melissa

#### Not Present:

Anderson, Chrystie Barclay, Samantha Begarly, Brandon Berry, Carolyn Blackledge, Phillip Bonner, Stacey Brady, Al

Brown. Harold Brown, Kenneth Buchanan, Leslie Carney, Kathy Clark, Kristen Clark, Joanna Clemmons, Lee De Los Santos, Wil Doss, Dana Eckert, Danielle Erickson, Catherine Fisher, Joe Giese, Tiffany Halman, Malina Hamilton, Brittni Harvey, Gregory Latham, Vickie Luce, Nathaniel Malveaux, Nicole Marshall, Jordan McClure, Nathan Nelson, Roberta Miller, Amber Miller, Jean Oliver, Leshuan Parks, Liv Pierce, Tania Porter. Beth Preston, Chris

Rall, Kathleen Robinson-Nichols, Ursula Sierra, Anthony Soren, Carol Tharp, Anthony Turner, Kimberly Vincz, JaNiece Waits, Robert Watkins, Heather Weisbrodt, Cathy Westrom, Lynn Williams, Megan

#### Sent Regrets:

Chiavini, Amanda Choate, Corey Hammock, Mark Ingram, Donna Korab, Emily Malone, Amelia Garrett, Bailey Morgan, Rachel Rutledge, Scott Seezen, Karen Siegel, Charlotte Wilson, Clifford Visitors:

Carroll, Barbara Gibson, Madison Glasgow, Scott Grant, Deborah James, Patricia Jones, Christopher Shahpar, Kamtarin Luffman, Josh Majewski, Ashley Moore, Latisha Morris, Diana Steinas, Jason Stiles, David Upchurch, Jodie Wolff, Jeanette Lawrence, Tiffany

#### **OLD & NEW BUSINESS ANNOUNCEMENTS**

#### President, Michael Pring

- Welcome to new USAC appointees!
- Remember to set up your Kroger card to go towards the Employee Hardship Fund. This year, employees contributed nearly \$6,600.
- Approval of May minutes

#### **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

Events, co-chairs Shelley Meadows & Amanda King

• Review of new members

#### Membership Committee, co-chairs Amanda Chiavini & Caroline Caldwell

• Happy birthday to our May Birthdays!

- Thank you to our Greeters!
- Thank you to 2017/2018 Membership Committee members
- 2018/2019 Co-Chairs for Membership Committee will be Tara Williams & Caroline Caldwell
- Redesigned welcome packet for new members
- Launched in Anchor Link to include monthly meeting notifications, RSVP, sign-in, and elections
- Re-apportionment of the University for USAC representation

## Communications, chair Carlos Ruiz

• Redesigned website and email communications

## Rules and Administration, co-chairs Ashely Heaton & Emily Korab

- Council year defined
- Membership categories expanded and defined
  - Elected
    - Elections, terms of office, and vacancies addressed
  - At-Large
    - Nominations and job transitions address
  - Ex-officio
- Formalized role of past presidents (new addition since last reading)
- Committee chair terms
- Amendments
  - Readings and approvals
  - Technical/typographic changes

## Staff Life, co-chairs Andy Richter & Jeff Louden

- Accomplishments include:
  - Retirement Recommendations
  - $\circ \quad CARE-Kindness \ in \ the \ workplace$
- Work in Progress include Benefits Review
- 2018/2019 Co-Chairs will be Andy Hall & Kay Brooks
- Thank you to all members for your outstanding efforts!

## J. Nathan Green, Interim Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs

- Advocate for the University in all levels of government
- Play important role in communities in the Nashville area
- Communications & Public Affairs were formally connected but recently split.
- The department of Public Affairs are three (3) things:
  - o Advocate

- Collaborator
- o Funder

## Christina West, Asst. Vice Chancellor of for Federal Relations

- DC office includes 3 University employees and 1 Medical Center
- To shape federal policies that affect higher education, federal student aid, graduate education, tax policy, international student and scholars, and intellectual property rights
- Review of accomplishments
- Continue advocating for robust funding
- Paying close attention to improving campus laws

## J. Nathan Green, Asst. Vice Chancellor for State Government Relations

- Monitor and actively lobby state government on legislative and regulatory issues
- Inform and activate the Vanderbilt Community to engage state policy officials
- Engage and educate state officials on Vanderbilt initiatives
- Host issue-driven public forums
- Reminding our state officials of Vanderbilt's sizeable economic impact
- Key partners include Tennessee Independent Colleges & Universities Association (TICUA) & TN Higher Education Commission

# Christine Bradley, Asst. Vice Chancellor for Community, Neighborhood, and Government Relations

- To assure the development and maintenance of good relationships within the local community, neighborhood, and government sector
- To create and utilize opportunities across the community for sharing intellectual capital and highlighting Vanderbilt faculty and staff
- To shape local policy decisions that impact the safety, growth and wellbeing of Vanderbilt
- Center for non-profit management, apply at a lower price, go thru her for verification
- FutureVU endeavors have all gone thru this department; ofo bikes as well
- In charge of the County by County data booklet, provides all information about demographics and information on Vanderbilt
- Follow us on social media @Vanderbilt\_GR

## J. Nathan Green, Asst. Vice Chancellor for State Government Relations

• Project Register: inform, engage people to vote

#### Michael Pring, president

• Presentation of end-of-year certificates

- Committee of the Year presented to: Membership Committee
- Committee Member of the Year presented to: Heather Watkins
- Karen Dolan Spirit Award presented to: Caroline Caldwell
- 2018/2019 Executive Counsel:
  - Jenny Mandeville, President
  - o Jeff Loudon, VP/President Elect
  - o Jasen Hughey, Treasurer
  - Rachel Harbin, Secretary

#### CLOSING

The next meeting will be held July 10<sup>th</sup> at 8:30 a.m. at the Student Life Center, Board of Trust Room