



# Meeting Minutes: Tuesday, April 13, 2021 **Online Zoom Meeting**

#### **Present:**

Best, Douglas Clemmons, Lee Coppinger, Whitney Jackson, Donald Taylor, Susan Carter, Marsha Hill, Olivia Conwell, Patrick Davis, Jessamyn Pring, Michael

Dawson, Toni Renee Ingram, Donna

Bennett, Jennifer

Bishop, Faith

Lawrence Givens, Tiffany

Hansbrough, Sean Hollifield, Michael LeBlanc, Jennifer Loudon, Jeff Lowe, Deni Robinson, Antonio Rutledge, Scott Wolff, Jeannette

Brown, Jacquelyn Cherry, Sandy Pickert, Donald Smith, LaDonna

Bordenstein, Sarah

Johnston, Caroline Kelley, Emily Kiolbasa, Mary Linski, Jamie

Porter, Beth Baquera, Felisha

McKeever-Burgett, Adam

Nashabi, Maya

Wang, Rong "Joanne"

Cooley, Emma Dixon, Michele Johnson, Denise Majewski, Ashley Ripley, Kate Walker, Susan

Butner, Sean Harding, Amanda Mullen, Becky Steffanick, Adam Weisbrodt, Cathy Putnam, Sara

Noote, Allie Jones, Haley Smith, Amy Woodruff, Karen Osinski, Keegan

Fuchs Hritz, Kathleen Johnson, Faye (Linda)

Yockey, Heather

Bess, Angela

Gracey, Lisa

Higgins, Ed Maddox, Lynn

Berry, Courtney

Bourgoin, Jeremy

Farst, Paige

Jones, Michael

Templeton, Alison

Cole, Victoria

Hastings, Lynn

Mundy, Meaghan

Rall, Kathleen

Sims, Beth

## **Not Present:**

Barclay, Samantha Cedzich, Michele Clair Brigman, Clair Halman, Michelle Crowhurst, Stace Armstrong, Anjelica

Bennett, Garrett Engstrom, Steven

Fox, Anita

Anuj Rastogi, Anuj Turner, Kimberly

Martin, Robert

Artus, Meagan

Carroll, Chantry

Perry, Will

Williams, Tara

Luffman, Josh

Stiles, David

Manlove, Sharon

Graham, Kashif

Griffin, Shore

Kamtarin, Shahpar

Anderson, Matthew

Charley, Myles

Sanders, Sara

Watkins, Katelen

Fields, Craig

Jensen, Lena

Mullane, Courtney

King, Amanda

Gibson, Madison

Nelson, Roberta (Rob)

## **Guest:**

Bourgoin, Jeremy Brooks, Bari Moore, Teea Nairon, Laura Sierra, Bryn Smith, Janet

#### WELCOME

Caroline Johnson, President, called meeting to order at 8:30am

Welcome

## **NEW and OLD BUSINESS ANNOUNCEMENTS**

- Minutes March
  - Approval delayed
- Karen Dolan Spirit Award
  - Submissions are open through April 23rd
- Employee Hardship Fund Kroger Card
  - These funds go directly to support the Faculty and Staff Hardship Fund for those employees experience temporary hardships.
  - More information can be found her for both Kroger Community Rewards and the Faculty and staff Hardship Fund, <a href="https://www.vumc.org/health-wellness/news-resource-articles/faculty-and-staff-hardship-fund">https://www.vumc.org/health-wellness/news-resource-articles/faculty-and-staff-hardship-fund</a>
- Executive Committee Position Speeches
  - Secretary open need candidates
  - Treasurer 3 candidates
  - VP/President Elect Amanda Harding
- Share Your Story
  - o One year later: Faces of Vandy Response to COVID
- ByLaw Amendment
  - o Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee changed to standing committee
  - Accepted and approved

## **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

Communications Committee, Jeff Louden and Ashley Majewshi Co-Chairs

- Next meeting Friday at 10 a.m.
- Focusing on website FAQ's
- Social Media Submission form
- Communications Co-Chair needed for next year

Events Committee, Amanda King and Jennifer Bennett Co-Chairs

- Next Meeting 4/27 1pm
- Virtual Happy Hour following Spring Staff Assembly
  - o May 20th
- Virtual Coffee Break
  - o Every Other Wednesday 10AM
  - o Coffee Break registration <a href="https://www.vanderbilt.edu/usac/events/events.php">https://www.vanderbilt.edu/usac/events/events.php</a>

Membership Committee, Cathy Weisbrodt and Lynn Hastings Co-Chairs

- April Birthdays
- Meet a USAC Member
- Election Update
  - o All Odd Groups

- o April 19: Elections Go Live
- Meet at USAC Member: Amanda Harding, Assistant Director, Vanderbilt Data Science Institute

Rules and Administration, Sean Butner and David Stiles Co-Chairs

Staff Life, Amanda Harding and Jamie Linski, Co-Chairs

- Next Meeting: Wed, April 21st at 1pm
  - Send email if interested in attending meeting
- Learning and Engagement
  - o https://hr.vanderbilt.edu/ele/workshopinfo.php

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) - Denise Johnson & Antonio Robinson Co-Chairs

- Next Meeting: April 22, 2021 9a.m. zoom
- Heritage Calendar Poster
  - o April Autistic Pride Month

#### KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Dr. Billy Teets, Director, Dyer Observatory and Resident Astronomer

- Located in Brentwood, TN
- Division of Gov & Community Relations
- Historic VU facility dedicated to inspiring students and the public in science through astronomy and space exploration
- Founded in 1953
- VU first observatory was where Rand Hall now stands 1875
- History of Astronomy at VU Landon Garland
  - o 1st Chancellor of VU
  - o 1st Chair of Physics and Astronomy Dept
- Dr Edward Emerson Barnard
  - o Discovered Barnard's Loop with advanced photography
  - o Barnard's Star moves across sky at fastest rate
  - Discovered 5<sup>th</sup> moon of Jupiter
  - o Barnard's Galaxy 1884
- Named after one of Main Donor Founders
  - Arthur J. Dyer
- Seyfert Telescope largest telescope at Dyer
- Star Chamber
  - o Complete in 2006 by Chris Drury
  - Walk-in camera obscura
- Events
  - Open Houses with telescopes open for viewing
  - Telescope Nights 2<sup>nd</sup> Friday of month
    - Several telescopes open

- Presentation studio for virtual events
  - Virtual telescope nights over zoom
  - Presenters from all over
- o Dyer.vanderbilt.edu for events
- Meet the Astronomer Lectures
- o Summer Camps 5<sup>th</sup> through 8<sup>th</sup> Graders
- Concerts
- Corporate Retreats
- Wildlife
  - o Owls, wild turkeys, deer, etc.
- Social Media @dyerobservers

Krista Vaught, Employee Learning & Engagement

- Upcoming learning experiences at <a href="http://vanderbi.lt/ele-workshops">http://vanderbi.lt/ele-workshops</a>
- Podcast PodTalks
- Thought Leader Series expert and opinion leaders

## **CLOSING REMARKS**

Tiffany Givins, President

- Next Meeting:
  - o Tuesday, May 11, 2021
  - Time: 8:30 amLocation: Zoom

Meeting was adjourned at 9:35 am.

Our Vision: Through communication, consultation, and service, the Council will promote a strong partnership among the staff, faculty, students, and administration of Vanderbilt University.