Skip to Content


Home > Professional Development > Professional Standards

Professional Standards

CAS Standards


The mission of the Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS) is to promote the improvement of programs and services to enhance the quality of student learning and development. CAS is a consortium of professional associations who work collaboratively to develop and promulgate standards and guidelines and to encourage self-assessment.

Domains & Dimensions

Knowledge Acquisition, Construction, Integration, and Application

  • Understanding knowledge from a range of disciplines
  • Connecting knowledge to other knowledge, ideas, and experiences
  • Constructing knowledge
  • Relating knowledge to daily life

Cognitive Complexity

  • Critical thinking
  • Reflective thinking
  • Effective reasoning
  • Creativity

Intrapersonal Development

  • Realistic self- appraisal, self- understanding, and self-respect
  • Identity development
  • Commitment to ethics and integrity
  • Spiritual awareness

Interpersonal Development

  • Meaningful relationships
  • Interdependence
  • Collaboration
  • Effective leadership

Humanitarianism and Civic Engagement

  • Understanding and appreciation of cultural and human differences
  • Social responsibility
  • Global perspective
  • Sense of civic responsibility

Practical Competence

  • Pursuing goals
  • Communicating effectively
  • Technological competence
  • Managing personal affairs
  • Managing career development


ASK Standards

Assessment Skills and Knowledge (ASK)

The ACPA ASK Standards were developed in 2006 and were endorsed by national accrediting bodies, associations, and assessment experts. ASK articulates the areas of content, skills, knowledge, and dispositions that student affairs professionals in all functional areas need in order to perform as practitioner-scholars. They also provide the basis to assess the degree to which students are mastering the intended learning and development outcomes.

“Use ASK intentionally as a basis to further develop your assessment knowledge and that of your staff.”

ASK Content Standards
  1. Assessment Design
  2. Articulating Learning and Development Outcomes
  3. Selection of Data Collection and Management Methods
  4. Assessment Instruments
  5. Surveys Used for Assessment Purposes
  6. Interviews and Focus Groups used for Assessment Purposes
  7. Analysis
  8. Benchmarking
  9. Program Review and Evaluation
  10. Assessment Ethics
  11. Effective Reporting and Use of Results
  12. Politics of Assessment
  13. Assessment Education

For a complete booklet with an explanation for each ASK Standard go to

Members of ACPA can download a copy of the booklet for free.

Back Home   


Recent News