Skip to Content

Psychological Sciences

Home > News > News


Fyfe earns faculty position!

July 22, 2016—Please join us in congratulating Emily Fyfe who has recently accepted an offer to become a tenure-track faculty member at Indiana University, Bloomington. Emily earned her Ph.D. at Vanderbilt in 2015 where she worked with Bethany Rittle-Johnson. Subsequently, Emily completed an IES Postdoctoral Fellowship at University of Wisconsin, Madison in the Training Program in Mathematical Thinking, Learning, and Instruction. Congratulations, Emily!

Congratulations Darren Yeo!

July 22, 2016—Incoming Educational Neuroscience PhD student, Darren Yeo, has won a prestigious International PhD scholarship from Nanyang Technological University’s (NTU) College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences. Jointly funded by the Ministry of Education in Singapore, the HASS predoctoral fellowship provides Singaporean students an opportunity to pursue an academic career by supporting their doctoral studies abroad. Upon completion of the PhD program, he will be appointed as a tenure-track faculty in the Division of Psychology at NTU.

Early Development Lab wins Bridging the Word Gap Award!

July 22, 2016—ollen Russo, Israel Flores, Gabriele Strouse and Georgene Troseth of Vanderbilt's Early Development Lab, led by Dr. Troseth, have won a Phase I Award for the Bridging the Word Gap Challenge! This Award was given by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to facilitate their development of a storybook app to model verbal interaction involving dialog and questioning. The app aims to help reduce the gap in early word exposure between low and high income children.

Congratulations Sarah Weisen, P.E.O. Fellowship awardee!

July 22, 2016—Please join us in congratulating Sarah Weisen, a fourth year Ph.D. student in Amy Needham's Infant Learning Lab within the Department of Psychology and Human Development, who won a prestigious P.E.O. Scholar Award! This fellowship is a one-time, competitive, merit-based award of $15,000 given to women who are well established in doctoral programs in the U.S. or Canada. The goal of the award is "recognizing and encouraging excellence in higher education...for women who will make significant contributions in their varied fields of endeavor."

Congratulations Jennifer!

June 21, 2016—Jennifer Trueblood receives early career award from psychonomic society.

Congratulations Jianhong (May) Shen

May 31, 2016—We congratulate Jianhong (May) Shen as the 2016 winner of The Lisa M. Quesenberry Foundation Award. This was established by Irvin and Mary Ann Quesenberry and Kathryn Quesenberry to memorialize the accomplishments of their daughter and sister, Lisa M. Quesenberry. It is designed to provide research or study awards to motivated graduate students. Preferably, the awards will be made to female graduate students who are studying the field of psychology and who have overcome significant personal challenges to pursue their education. Congratulations May!

Congratulations Marcus, Mackenzie & Scott! Also honorable mention too Patrick.

April 19, 2016—Please join us in congratulating Marcus Wild and Mackenzie Sunday on their National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships. These prestigious awards will support their research. Scott Blain, an undergraduate from our program, has also been offered this award, a rare accomplishment for a junior researcher. Finally, Patrick O’Keefe received an honorable mention, making it a great year in our program in this competition!

Congratulations Scott Blain!

March 30, 2016—Undergraduate Senior Scott Blain (Class of '16) has been awarded the highly prestigious NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, to pursue a PhD in psychology. Scott - a double major in Cognitive Studies and Medicine, Health, and Society- is currently completing his Psychology Honors thesis on the role of personality traits in embodied emotion in Dr. Sohee Park’s lab. In his Honors thesis project, he focused on how individual differences impact the way humans perceive and interface with the social world. Scott has also contributed to a variety of research projects with Drs. Blythe Corbett, and Reyna Gordon. He has presented his work at Society for Social Neuroscience, Society for Music Perception/Cognition, and the Association for Psychological Science, and currently has co-authored manuscripts in press/revision in Autism Research, Autism, and Frontiers. During the past four years at Vanderbilt, Scott has been actively involved in science outreach and education, as Writing Studio consultant, Student Athletics psychology tutor, and social media coordinator for Vanderbilt's Program for Music, Mind, and Society. Moving forward, he plans to investigate the neural and genetic mechanisms underlying individual differences in emotional reactivity and social behavior.

Reinhart and Fukuda earn faculty positions!

March 28, 2016—Please join us in congratulating the trainees from the Psychology Department who have recently accepted offers to become tenure-track faculty next year. Rob Reinhart and Kei Fukuda will start jobs as Assistant Professors next year. Rob Reinhart is a graduate student who will be taking a faculty position at Boston University in the Fall. Rob’s research uses electrophysiology and brain stimulation to understand cognitive control and attention. Keisuke Fukuda is currently a postdoctoral researcher who uses behavioral methods and recordings of electrical brain activity to study memory storage and encoding. Kei will be starting a faculty position at the University of Toronto, Mississauga in the fall of this year.

Congratulations to Joshua Buckholtz!

February 22, 2016—It's always rewarding to hear one of our graduated students succeeding in their own academic positions. Joshua Buckholtz (Ph.D in Neuroscience who carried out his research under the mentorship of David Zald) was awarded the 2016 Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformational Early Career Contributions from the Association for Psychological Science (APS).  Research contributions can be transformative in various ways, such as the establishment of new approaches or paradigms within a field of psychology, or the development or advancement of research that cuts across fields of psychological science.Recipients reflect the best of the many new and cutting edge ideas coming out of our most creative and promising investigators who, together, embody the future of psychological science.

Showing 1–10 out of 150        « Previous | Next »