Office of the Provost

Home » Faculty Awards » Alexander Heard Distinguished Service Professor Award

Alexander Heard Distinguished Service Professor Award

The Alexander Heard Distinguished Service Professor Award was created on the occasion of the retirement of Chancellor Heard in 1982. It is endowed with funds contributed by faculty, staff, and others.

The title is conferred upon a full-time faculty member, regardless of rank or school, for distinctive contributions to the understanding of problems of contemporary society. The purpose of the award is to encourage, recognize, and honor faculty members’ contributions to the analysis and solution of contemporary social problems, broadly construed. Contributions may take the form of teaching, writing, basic or applied research, and consultative or other forms of service. Announcement is made at the Spring Faculty Assembly.

The recipient carries for one year the title Alexander Heard Distinguished Service Professor and receives a $2,500 cash award and an engraved silver tray.

Members of the Faculty are invited to submit nominations to the Faculty Senate. The Faculty Senate Consultative Committee reviews the nominations and makes recommendations to the Provost. Final selection is made by the Chancellor in consultation with the Provost.

Previous Winners

  • 1983 David J. Wilson (Chemistry)
  • 1984 David Rabin (Medicine)
  • 1985 Erwin C. Hargrove (Political Science)
  • 1986 Alfred Baumeister (Psychology)
  • 1987 Walter Harrelson (Divinity)
  • 1988 Frank L. Parker (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
  • 1989 W. Anderson Spickard, Jr. (Medicine)
  • 1990 Frank A. Sloan (Economics)
  • 1991 Liston O. Mills (Divinity)
  • 1992 Richard A. Pride (Political Science)
  • 1993 H. Carl Haywood (Psychology)
  • 1994 Thomas A. Mahoney (Management)
  • 1995 Karl B. Schnelle, Jr. (Chemical Engineering)
  • 1996 Susan Ford Wiltshire (Classical Studies)
  • 1997 Kenneth A. Dodge (Psychology)
  • 1998 Paul K. Conkin (History)
  • 1999 Jonathan I. Charney (Law)
  • 2000 Hugh Davis Graham (History)
  • 2001 John J. Siegfried (Economics)
  • 2002 David J. Ernst (Physics and Astronomy)
  • 2003 Virginia L. Shepherd (Pathology)
  • 2004 Ellen B. Goldring (Leadership, Policy, and Organizations)
  • 2005 Kathryn M. Edwards (Pediatrics)
  • 2006 James W. Guthrie (Leadership, Policy, and Organizations)
  • 2007 Steven D. Hollon (Psychology)
  • 2008 Dale C. Farran (Teaching and Learning)
  • 2009 C. Neal Tate (Political Science)
  • 2010 Nancy J. King (Law)
  • 2011 Robert F. Barsky (French and Italian)
  • 2012 Sohee Park (Psychology)
  • 2013 Gregory F. Barz (Music)
  • 2014 Teresa A. Goddu (English)
  • 2015 Bonita A. Pilon (Nursing)