Physics & Astronomy Department
Vanderbilt University
PMB 401807
2401 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37240-1807

(615) 322-2828
(615) 343-7263

Graduate Student Awards and Honors

The Robert T. Lagemann Award

The award has been established in 1988 in honor of Robert T. Lagemann, Landon C. Garland Professor of Physics, Emeritus, who taught at Vanderbilt from 1951 to 1977. The Lagemann award is given annually to an “entering or first-year graduate student for exceptional promise in physics”.

2013Hong Ni, Rui Wang, and Qiao Xu
2012John Spear and Enhong Wang
2011Peter Denton and Junhao Lin
2010Shengquan Tuo and Alex Krejci
2009Eric Appelt and Susan Kost
2008Michael Andrew Clemens
2007Holley Ellen Lynch
2006Suseela Somarajan
2005Christopher Tyler Goodin and Stephen Lee Johnson Jr.
2004Rupam Das
2003 Eric Bishop Chancellor and Ke Li
2002Dennis Fong and Junkai Xu
2001Lin Tang
2000Tamas Bakos
1999Li Zhang
1998Liguo Song and Xuequian Zhang
1997Hui Chen, Hui Fan, Tian Ling
1996Denis Malov
1995Robert Cutler
1994Tong Li and Biao Ye
1992Stanley W. Brown and Robert B. Atchison

Most Outstanding Student Publication

The award was established in 2011 by the Graduate Program Committee and will be given anually to recognize the most outstanding student publication for a paper published during the previous calendar year.

2013 Eric Appelt and Shengquan Tuo Measurement of the elliptic anisotropy of charged particles produced in PbPb collisions at √sNN=2.76 TeV, Physical Review C87, 014902 (2013)
2012Hiram Conley Graphene Bimetallic-like Cantilevers: Probing Graphene/Substrate Interactions, Nano Lett. 2011, 11, 4748–4752
2011Jed Ziegler Plasmonic Response of Nanoscale Spirals,Nano Letters,10,3013-3018(2010)

The Akunuri V. Ramayya Award

Established in 2007 by Akunuri V. Ramayya, Professor of Physics, this award is given to the most outstanding physics or astronomy graduate student Teaching Assistant.

2013Drew Dellamonica
2010Chong Cai
2011Keith Warnick and Michael Carlson
2010Joyeeta Nag and Heungman Park
2009Jeffrey Clay Hammonds
2008William Teets
2007Marcin Michal Jankiewicz

The Royal Albridge Award

Established in 2007 in honor of Royal Albridge, Professor of Physics, who taught at Vanderbilt from 1961 to 2007. Presented annually to the most outstanding first time physics or astronomy graduate student Teaching Assistant.

2011Andy Muhich and Lisa Genovese
2010Andres Delannoy and Alex Krejci
2009Jason Pawlowski and Caroline Yount
2007Holley Ellen Lynch

Copyright 2010, Vanderbilt University