Department Colloquium

Other Events

Contact

Physics & Astronomy Department
Vanderbilt University
PMB 401807
2401 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37240-1807

Phone: 
Fax: 
Email: 
(615) 322-2828
(615) 343-7263
physics-astronomy

Physics and Astronomy Colloquium, 2015-2016

Colloquia are held on Thursdays at 3PM in room 4327 (building 4) of the Stevenson Science Center unless otherwise noted. Click here for directions, or phone the department. A reception with the speaker is held at 2:30pm in Stevenson 6333.

Show all abstracts. Hide all abstracts.

Fall 2015

Thursday, August 27---Fall Faculty Assembly

Thursday, September 3---FRANCIS G. SLACK LECTURE

David Awschalom, Institute for Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago

Beyond electronics: abandoning perfection for quantum technologies    (show abstract)

Our technological preference for perfection can only lead us so far: as traditional transistor-based electronics rapidly approach the atomic scale, small amounts of disorder begin to have outsized negative effects. Surprisingly, one of the most promising pathways out of this conundrum may emerge from recent efforts to embrace defects and construct 'quantum machines’ to enable new information technologies based on the quantum nature of the electron. Recently, individual defects in diamond and other materials have attracted interest as they possess an electronic spin state that can be employed as a solid state quantum bit at and above room temperature. Research at the frontiers of this field includes creating and manipulating these unusual states in a new generation of nanometer-scale structures. These developments have launched technological efforts aimed at developing applications ranging from secure data encryption to radical improvements in computation speed and complexity. We will describe recent advances towards these goals, including the surprising ability to control atomic-scale spins for communication and computation within materials surrounding us for generations.

Host: R. Scherrer

Thursday, September 10

Andrew Steigerwald

   (show abstract)

Host: N. Tolk

Thursday, September 17---GUY & REBECCA FORMAN LECTURE

Mario Affatigato, Fran Allison and Francis Halpin Professor of Physics, Coe College

   (show abstract)

Host: R. Scherrer

Thursday, September 24

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, October 1

Lisa Manning, Department of Physics, Syracuse University

   (show abstract)

Host: S. Hutson

Thursday, October 8

Gregory Benford, Department of Physics & Astronomy, University of California, Irvine

Our Next Century in Space    (show abstract)

Host: R. Scherrer

Thursday, October 15---Fall Break

Thursday, October 22

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, October 29

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, November 5

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, November 12

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, November 19

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, November 26---Thanksgiving

Thursday, December 3

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, December 10

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Spring 2016

Thursday, January 21

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, January 28

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, February 4

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, February 11

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, February 18

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, February 25

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, March 3

Caleb Scharf, Director of Astrobiology, Columbia University

   (show abstract)

Host: R. Scherrer

Thursday, March 10---Spring Break

Thursday, March 17

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, March 24

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, March 31---Spring Faculty Assembly

Thursday, April 7

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, April 14

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Thursday, April 21

OPEN

   (show abstract)

Host:

Copyright 2010, Vanderbilt University