Current Graduate Students

Renee Martin
renee.c.martin-willett@Vanderbilt.Edu
Refugee health outcomes, global and domestic equity and delivery of care, maternal and children’s health outcomes.


Christopher Gross
christopher.l.gross@Vanderbilt.Edu
Christopher is interested in how individual patient and provider narratives interface and influence each other, as they relate to quality of health service delivery. Examining this intersection provides evidence for improving both patient experience, provider efficacy, and healthcare team dynamics.  My other area of interest is global health, particularly psychosocial barriers such as social/cultural stigma and health belief models. After completing Social Foundations of Health, he plans to backpack through Europe. Then, I will pursue an MD/MPH degree.

Kristin Hill
kristin.a.hill@Vanderbilt.Edu

 

 

Garret King
phillip.g.king@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Katie Marrero
katie.a.marrero@Vanderbilt.Edu
Her research interests focus on racial and ethnic health disparities focusing more specifically on men’s health. Katie hopes to apply this in a local and global setting. She plans to work in clinical medicine after obtaining her masters.


Jessica Meyer
jessica.e.meyer@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

Robert Sacks
robert.s.sacks@Vanderbilt.Edu
His research interests are cultural constructs of health, medical technologies, disability studies, and mental and physical health disparities.  After the MHS 4+1 program, Robert intends to pursue a career in clinical medicine.

Else Sharp
else.w.sharp@Vanderbilt.Edu

 

 

Brian Smith
brian.a.smith@Vanderbilt.Edu

 

 

Jori Turner
jori.r.turner@Vanderbilt.Edu

 

 

RECENT GRADUATE STUDENTS

Kelly Dennen
kelly.a.dennen@Vanderbilt.Edu
Kelly is employed by InVivoLink, a healthcare technology company in Nashville, where she interned as part of her 4+1 MA research. She completed her MHS research project in the Dominican Republic. Check out Kelly’s blog about her experience in the DR. Her research interests include health promotion, healthcare technology, global disease prevention, exercise and nutrition, and integrative health solutions.



Matt Goldstein
matthew.a.goldstein.1@Vanderbilt.Edu
His research interests include preventative medicine and healthcare delivery to lower and middle income countries.


Elina Nektalova
elina.nektalova@Vanderbilt.Edu
Graduating summer 2014, Elina is traveling for a year as an MHS affiliate with International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ) studying traditional medicine. Then, she is off to New York Medical College to pursue an                                        MD/MPH. Her research interests include gender dichotomies, health                                      disparities, global public health, and healthcare delivery.


Ashley Stephens
ashley.l.stephens@Vanderbilt.Edu
After graduating in summer 2014, Ashley accepted a full-time position in Nashville as the Clinical Ethics Fellow for Saint Thomas Health where she will assume a leadership role with each hospital’s ethics committee and ethics consultation service. She will also be working as a research                                 assistant with Tennessee Orthopedic Alliance to continue pursuing her                                 interest in research ethics via participating in efforts to maintain IRB                                   protocols, informed consent procedures, participant recruitment, and data                          collection.

Registration and Graduation
Meet with your faculty advisor to discuss courses for Fall 2014. Registration instructions and Registration Related Forms are available through Vanderbilt Graduate School. Graduate students taking an independent study with a faculty member or requesting permission to receive graduate credit for an undergraduate level or professional course should complete and submit these forms by the first day of class.