Peabody Reflector

Morris Wiener, BS’53

Summer 2012 | One Comment | |

Morris Wiener, BS’53, recently sent the Peabody Reflector an article he wrote for Pathways: The Ontario Journal of Outdoor Education about a camping education class he took at Peabody in 1952 with R.T. DeWitt, associate professor of physical education. The experience served as a springboard for Wiener, who retired in 1994 from Northern Illinois University where he taught in the outdoor teacher education program for 31 years. Wiener is an honorary lifetime member of the Outdoor Educators of Ontario and will deliver an address this fall for the 40th anniversary of the organization.

According to Wiener, the highlight of the Peabody course was a 10-day camp leadership experience at the H.G. Hill Camp, a property owned by the college. The camp consisted of 150 acres on the Harpeth River, about 18 miles from campus. For several years, students in the Peabody course helped administer the camp for seventh graders from what was then known as the Demonstration School (now the University School of Nashville). By 1960, the camp had been sold. According to a diary of the experience by one of the seventh grade students, the photo above depicts the lighting of a bonfire on the first night of camp followed by one of the counselors telling a legend of how fire first came to be.

photo credits: Vanderbilt University Special Collections and Photo Archives

One Response »

  1. Horace Greeley Hill, Jr. gave the camp property to Peabody in 1941 with the onset of WWII. Mr. Hill and his father were on the Board of Peabody and encouraged outdoor education. The Hill Camp was part of a 1200 Acre site which the Hills purchased for $7,000 in 1931. The larger tract is now known as the Cave Spring Home & School which operates as The Country Living Foundation, and which started as a self-help mission led by Julia Grow to aid, train and educate developmentally challenged children and adults. While Peabody was reluctant to accept the Camp property, I have heard of many good experiences from some who attended the Camp and from some in Geology who “camped” in the small complex which still exists along the CSX Railroad at the Davidson/Cheatham line. The original camphouses are still in use by the family of Albert Rose, the Peabody Board member who purchased the site.

    Thanks for re-visiting the Camp and its “stories” and educational experiences.

Leave a Reply

CAPTCHA Image