Home » And the Award Goes toSpring 2011

And the Award Goes to

No Comment

A. V. Ramayya (left)

A. V. Ramayya, professor of physics, was honored with an honorary doctor of science degree by India’s Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, a central university in Bilaspur, Chatishgarh State.

Jeremy Atack, professor of economics and history, was named president-elect of the Economic History Association.

Kate Daniels

Associate Professor of English and poet Kate Daniels received the 2011 Hanes Award for Poetry, an award given by the Fellowship of Southern Writers for outstanding literary achievement by a Southern poet.

Novelist Tony Earley, Samuel Milton Fleming Professor of English, has been elected a member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers.

Tony Earley, Samuel Milton Fleming Professor of English, and Todd R. Graham, professor of biological sciences, received 2010 Chancellor’s Awards for Research. The university-wide honor recognizes excellence in research, scholarship or creative expression.

Ellen Fanning, Stevenson Professor of Biological Sciences, was elected a fellow by the American Academy of Microbiology.

Gary Gerstle, James Stahlman Professor of History, has been named the Harold Vyvyan Harmsworth Professor of American History at Oxford University for the 2012-2013 academic year.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elected four College of Arts and Science faculty as fellows. John Gore, Hertha Ramsey Cress Chair in Medicine and professor of physics; Jeffrey Johnston, professor of chemistry; Michael Stone, professor and chair of chemistry; and John Wikswo, Gordon A. Cain University Professor and A.B. Learned Professor of Living State Physics, were honored for distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Shaul Kelner

The Association for Jewish Studies recognized a book by Shaul Kelner, assistant professor of sociology and Jewish studies, as outstanding scholarship in the field of Jewish studies. Kelner received the 2010 Jordan Schnitzer Book Award for Tours That Bind: Diaspora, Pilgrimage and Israeli Birthright Tourism.

Elizabeth Lunbeck, Nelson Tyrone Jr. Professor of History and chair of the department, was named Distinguished Psychoanalytic Educator by the International Forum of Psychoanalytic Education.

Terry Page, professor of biological sciences, was honored with the 2010 university-wide Madison Sarratt Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Professor of French Virginia Scott received the university’s Thomas Jefferson Award, made annually for distinguished service to the institution.

The U.S. Agency for International Development has awarded a $2.9 million award to Mitchell A. Seligson, Centennial Professor of Political Science, for work on a Latin American Democratic Indicators Monitoring System for El Salvador.

Tracy Denean Sharpley-Whiting

Tracy Denean Sharpley-Whiting, Distinguished Professor of African American and Diaspora Studies and French, was named one of the top 100 young leaders of the African American community by The Root, an online magazine founded by scholar Henry Louis Gates Jr. Sharpley-Whiting is director of the African American and Diaspora Studies program and director of the William T. Bandy Center for Baudelaire and Modern French Studies.

Claire Sisco King, assistant professor of communication studies, received Vanderbilt’s 2010 Ellen Gregg Ingalls Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching.

The College of Arts and Science awarded the annual Jeffrey Nordhaus Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching to Mark Wollaeger, professor of English (humanities), Prasad Polavarapu, professor of chemistry (natural sciences), and Michael Bess, Chancellor’s Professor of History (social sciences). The Ernest A. Jones Faculty Advisor Award was presented to David Furbish, professor of Earth and environmental sciences. The Harriet S. Gilliam Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Senior Lecturer went to Steve Baskauf, senior lecturer in biological sciences and the Alumni Outstanding Pre-Major Advisor Award was presented to Scott Zeman, CASPAR adviser and senior lecturer in philosophy.

photo credit: John Russell, Steve Green

Comments are closed.