Home » Arts and Science NotebookFall 2010

New Department Chairs

No Comment


Two academic departments started the 2010-2011 year with new leaders, while several others welcomed new faculty and celebrated promotions of other faculty. Mark Schoenfield, professor of English, is the new chair of the English department and John Geer, Distinguished Professor of Political Science, will chair political science.

Schoenfield, an expert in romanticism and literature and law, is the author of British Periodicals and Romantic Identity: The “Literary Lower Empire.” He has published in The Wordsworth Circle, Studies in Romanticism and various other journals.


Schoenfield succeeds Jay Clayton, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of English, who served as chair of English since 2003.

Geer is a widely quoted media expert on elections, public opinion and political communication. He is the past editor of The Journal of Politics and author of In Defense of Negativity, a study of negative political advertising.

He follows Bruce Oppenheimer, who stepped in as interim chair after the death of Neal Tate in fall 2009.

photo credit: John Russell

Comments are closed.