Home » And the Award Goes toFall 2010

And the Award Goes to

No Comment

Professor of History William Caferro has been awarded a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship. He was one of 180 fellows named from a field of more than 3,000 applicants.

The American Academy of Religion named Making Transcendents: Ascetics and Social Memory in Early Medieval China by Professor of Asian Studies Robert Ford Campany the 2010 AAR Best Book in Historical Studies.

Celso Castilho, assistant professor of history, was awarded the 2009 American Historical Association/Conference for Latin American History Lewis Hanke Award.

Julia Cohen, assistant professor of Jewish studies and assistant professor of history, has been awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities grant for her proposed collection, The Sephardic Studies Reader.



Nita Farahany, associate professor of law and philosophy, has been appointed to the Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues by President Barack Obama.

Barbara Hahn, Distinguished Professor of German, received the 2010 Margherita von Brentano Prize from the Free University of Berlin for her work in reconstructing the history of intellectual women from the beginning of the 19th century to the early 21st century.

Mark Hosford, associate professor of art, received a Tennessee Arts Commission 2010 Individual Arts Fellowship in Visual Arts. The award is one of the highest honors a Tennessee artist can receive.

Larry Isaac, Distinguished Professor of Sociology, received the ASA Culture Section’s 2010 Clifford Geertz prize for best article and the 2010 Southern Sociological Society’s Distinguished Lecturer Award.



Professor of History Jane Landers has been awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities fellowship. Landers will use this, her third NEH fellowship, to study African Kingdoms, Black Republics and Free Black Towns in the Iberian Atlantic. She has also been awarded a 2010 Gilder Lehrman Research Award and a Vanderbilt International Office International Curriculum grant.

Jennifer F. Reinganum, E. Bronson Ingram Professor of Economics, has been named secretary/treasurer of the American Law and Economics Association.

Robert Scherrer

Robert Scherrer

Robert Scherrer, chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, received the 2010 Klopsteg Memorial Award from the American Association of Physics Teachers for his science fiction writing. The award recognizes extraordinary accomplishment in communicating the excitement of physics to the public.

The Department of Sociology in the College of Arts and Science was awarded the 2009 Seal of Approval for Gender Scholarship by the Sociologists for Women in Society in recognition of a commitment to gender equity.

photo credit: John Russell, Daniel DuBois

Comments are closed.