Home » And the Award Goes toFall 2009

And the award goes to

No Comment


James Dickerson

James Dickerson

James Dickerson, assistant professor of physics, has been awarded a new, three-year research grant of more than $360,000 from the Office of Naval Research.

Marshall Eakin, professor of history, has been appointed director of the Ingram Scholars Program.

John Geer, Distinguished Professor of Political Science, has been invited by Harvard’s Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy to spend fall 2009 as a fellow of the center.

Bill Ivey, director of the Curb Center for Art, Enterprise and Public Policy, was honored with the Music for Life award given by NAMM, the trade association of the international music products industry. The award is the highest honor that NAMM bestows and recognizes extraordinary contributions to the mission of creating more active music makers.

Professor of Political Science David Lewis’ The Politics of Presidential Appointments has won the 2009 Richard E. Neustadt Award, given by the American Political Science Association for the best book on the U.S. presidency published during the previous year.

Scrivere la pittura: La ‘funzione Longhi’ nella letteratura italiana by Andrea Mirabile, professor of Italian, has been published by Angelo Longo Editore.

Jesse Peterson, assistant professor of mathematics, has won a $50,000 research fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation aimed at encouraging promising young scholars. He is one of 118 researchers in physics, chemistry, computer science, mathematics, neuroscience and economics chosen at the early stages of their careers because of their “exceptional promise to contribute to the advancement of knowledge.”

Carol Swain, professor of political science and law, has been reappointed to the Tennessee Advisory Committee of the United States Commission on Civil Rights.

Robert B. Talisse, associate professor of philosophy, will be a visiting scholar at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York for 2009–2010.


Cecelia Tichi

Cecelia Tichi

Cecelia Tichi, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of English, is this year’s Hubbell Medal winner. This lifetime achievement award is given by the American Literature Section of the Modern Language Association for significantly advancing the study of American literature.

Four College of Arts and Science faculty members were honored with university-wide awards for teaching excellence and service. Tiffany Tung, assistant professor of anthropology, received the Madison Sarratt Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. John Geer, Distinguished Professor of Political Science, was awarded the Ellen Gregg Ingalls Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching. The Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award to honor faculty whose contributions span multiple academic disciplines was given to Dana Nelson, the Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English. The Alexander Heard Distinguished Service Professor Award was given to C. Neal Tate, professor and chair of political science and professor of law (see story on Tate on page 4).

At the fall faculty assembly, David A. Weintraub, professor of astronomy, received the university’s Thomas Jefferson Award for distinguished service through contributions as a faculty member in the councils and government of the university. Individual Chancellor’s Awards for Research were presented to Yanqin Fan, professor of economics and mathematics, and James G. Patton, professor of biological sciences. The research team of Gordon D. Logan, Centennial Professor of Psychology, Thomas J. Palmeri, associate professor of psychology, and Jeffrey D. Schall, E. Bronson Ingram Professor of Neuroscience, was also honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Research.

photo credit: Daniel Dubois, John Russell

Comments are closed.