Home » And the Award Goes toSpring 2009

And the Award Goes to

No Comment

Cambridge University Press has published Universal Human Rights in a World of Difference by Brooke Ackerly, associate professor of political science.

Jeremy Atack, professor of economics and professor of history, co-edited The Origins and Development of Financial Markets and Institutions, published by Cambridge University Press.

Darryl Bornhop, professor of chemistry, was named one of 10 finalists for the Association for Laboratory Automation’s annual innovation award. 

The Blue Star by Tony Earley, Samuel Milton Fleming Associate Professor of English, was recognized by The New York Times Book Review as one of the “100 Notable Books of 2008.” USA Today named it one of the top 10 books of 2008.

Tony Earley and <em>The Blue Star</em>

Tony Earley and The Blue Star

Brandt Eichman, assistant professor of biological sciences and assistant professor of biochemistry, has received the Young Investigator Award from scientific research society Sigma XI. 



Ellen Fanning, Stevenson Professor of Biological Sciences, and Thomas J. Weiler, professor of physics, have been awarded Humboldt Research Awards in recognition of lifetime achievements. 

Seeing Mexico Photographed: The Work of Horne, Casasola, Modotti and Álvarez Bravo by Leonard Folgarait, professor of history of art, was published by Yale University Press. 

American Crucible by Gary Gerstle, James G. Stahlman Professor of American History, has been chosen as a Best Book for a Transformative New Year by NPR’s Fresh Air. 

Jennifer Lena, assistant professor of sociology, and Sarah Igo, associate professor of history, will serve as co-chairs of the Culture Network of the Social Science History Association from October 2008-2011. 



The Divine Nature of Power by Tracy G. Miller, associate professor of history of art, received the Southeastern College Art Conference Award for Excellence in Scholarly Research and Publication. 

Assistant Professor of History Catherine Molineux’s Pleasures of the Smoke has been named co-winner of the 2008 James L. Clifford Prize from American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies. 

Michael Nelson, adjunct professor of political science, won the V.O. Key Book Award for How the South Joined the Gambling Nation: The Politics of State Policy Innovation.

Moses Ochonu, assistant professor of history, has been awarded a Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation Grant.

Thomas Schwartz, professor of history, has been awarded the 2008 Annual Alumni Education Award from the Vanderbilt Alumni Association. He has also received the Book Award by Chi Chapter of the Kappa Alpha Order. 

John Sloop, professor of communication studies and associate dean of the College of Arts and Science, has been awarded the prestigious 2008 Charles H. Woolbert Research Award by the National Communications Association. Sloop was honored for his influential 1995 co-authored essay, “The Critique of Vernacular Discourse.” 

Gary Sulikowski, Stevenson Professor of Chemistry, has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Robert Talisse, associate professor of philosophy, and Scott Aikin, PhD’06, have published Pragmatism: A Guide for the Perplexed.



David Petrain, assistant professor of classics, and Tracy G. Miller, associate professor of history of art, have been awarded fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities. 

Elizabeth Zechmeister, assistant professor of political science, has been awarded a National Science Foundation grant for research on “The Effects of Terrorist Threats on Democratic Support in Liberal and Illiberal Democracies.”

The College of Arts and Science presented 2008 teaching awards to faculty members in a variety of disciplines. Nathalie Debrauwere-Miller, assistant professor of French, received the Jeffrey Nordhaus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in the Humanities;Terry Page, professor of biological sciences, received the Jeffrey Nordhaus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in the Natural Sciences; and Katherine Crawford, associate professor of history, received the Jeffrey Nordhaus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in the Social Sciences. The Harriet S. Gilliam Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Lecturer or Senior Lecturer was awarded to Michelle Sulikowski, senior lecturer in chemistry. The Ernest A. Jones Faculty Adviser Award was presented to Roger E. Moore, senior lecturer in English. The Alumni Outstanding Freshman Adviser Award was presented to Senior Lecturer Julia Fesmire of the Women’s and Gender Studies program. Gregg Horowitz, associate professor of philosophy, received the 2008 Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching. Jon Kaas, Centennial Professor of Psychology, was honored with the 2008 Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentoring. Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards were awarded to Danielle Kurin, anthropology, and Matt Whitt, philosophy.

photo credit: John Russell (1,4), Daniel Dubois (2,3)

Comments are closed.