Home » And the Award Goes toFall 2008

And the Award Goes to

No Comment

Michael Bess, Chancellor’s Professor of History, and Jay Bloom, assistant professor of history of art, have received 2008 fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS). ACLS fellowships and grants are awarded to individual scholars for excellence in research in the humanities and related social sciences.

William Caferro, professor of history, received the 2009 Otto Gründler Prize for his book, John Hawkwood: An English Mercenary in Fourteenth Century Italy. 

Anastasia Curwood, assistant professor of African American and diaspora studies, received the Woodrow Wilson Career Enhancement Fellowship for junior faculty.

Ellen Fanning, Stevenson Professor of Molecular Biology, has been named a fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). She was also recently elected to the German National Academy of Science (Duetsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina), the world’s oldest continuously existing academy for medicine and natural sciences.

The trade paperback version of Investing in College: A Guide for the Perplexed by Malcolm Getz, associate professor of economics, was published by Harvard University Press in September. Harvard first published the hardcover edition in March 2007.

Victoria Greene, professor of physics, has been appointed executive dean in the College of Arts and Science.

Arts, Inc., a cultural assessment of the U.S. arts system by Bill Ivey, director of the Curb Center for Art, Enterprise and Public Policy, has been published by the University of California Press.

John Janusek, associate professor of anthropology, has received a Dumbarton Oaks Fellowship in Pre-Columbian Studies for 2008–2009.

Gary Jensen, professor of sociology, has been appointed editor of the journal, Homicide Studies.

David E. Lewis, professor of political science, has been awarded the Herbert A. Simon Best Book Award for The Politics of Presidential Appointments: Political Control and Bureaucratic Performance

Richard Lloyd, assistant professor of sociology, has been appointed consulting editor of the American Journal of Sociology.

John McLean, assistant professor of chemistry, received a 2008 research award from the American Society for Mass Spectrometry and a 2008 Starter Grant Award from the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh/Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh.

Dana Nelson, Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of English and American studies, has been elected to the American Antiquarian Society.

Antonis Rokas, assistant professor of biological sciences, has been named a 2008 Searle Scholar. The honor, given to exceptional young faculty in the biomedical sciences and chemistry, is accompanied by a $300,000 research grant. 

Allison Schachter, assistant professor of Jewish studies and English, was awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities summer grant.

Robert Scherrer, professor of physics and chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, co-authored “The End of Cosmology,” the cover story of the March 2008 Scientific American journal. 

Robert B. Talisse, associate professor of philosophy and political science, has been appointed editor of Public Affairs Quarterly.

Lenn E. Goodman and his wife, Roberta Goodman

Lenn E. Goodman and his wife, Roberta Goodman

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos honored several arts and science professors with 2008 faculty awards. David Wood, Centennial Professor of Philosophy, received the Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award, given annually in honor of faculty whose contributions span multiple academic disciplines. Daniel B. Cornfield, professor of sociology and director of the Vanderbilt Center for Nashville Studies, received the Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor Award for distinguished accomplishments at furthering the aims of Vanderbilt University. Stephen G. Buckles, senior lecturer in economics, received the Madison Sarratt Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. The 2008 Thomas Jefferson Award, made annually for distinguished service through extraordinary contributions in the councils and government of the university, was awarded to Randolph Blake, Centennial Professor of Psychology. Douglas G. McMahon, professor of biological sciences and director of graduate studies, Tracy G. Miller, associate professor of history of art, Frank Tong, associate professor of psychology, and Mark A. Wollaeger, professor of English, were honored with 2008 Chancellor’s Awards for Research. Lenn E. Goodman, Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities and professor of philosophy, received the Earl Sutherland Prize for Achievement in Research, given annually for achievements in research, scholarship or creative expression that have had significant critical reception and recognition nationally or internationally.

photo credit: Steve Green

Comments are closed.