Awards For Sophomores

Below are awards that are available to sophomore students who demonstrate leadership and service at Vanderbilt.  Sophomores are encouraged to read through these award descriptions and apply for the one(s) that best represent their qualities.

Glenn & Elizabeth Bogitsh Award

Established in 1989 in memory of Glenn Carlisle (B.S. ’77) and Elizabeth Norris Bogitsh (B.S. ’82), this award recognizes high standards in physical fitness, participation in recreational sports, and sportsmanship. It is awarded each year to a Vanderbilt undergraduate or graduate student who demonstrates a strong commitment to campus recreational programs and by example and leadership has inspired participation and sportsmanlike conduct in these activities. A trophy is presented to the recipient and his/her name is engraved on a plaque in the Student Recreation Center.  Questions regarding the award may be directed to

McGill Awards

These awards are presented through the generosity of the McGill family in honor of Dr. John T. and Lizzie Allen McGill who provided students with an atmosphere of hospitality and guidance through their years at Vanderbilt. A graduate of Vanderbilt in 1879, John McGill spent his life in service to Vanderbilt. He served as professor emeritus of chemistry, Dean of the School of Pharmacy and finally a historian of the University. Questions regarding all McGill Awards may be directed to

John T. McGill Award (1 McGill Residential Project Member)

Established in 1960 by Lizzie Allen McGill, this award is presented in memory of her husband, John T. McGill. This award is presented to a McGill Hall resident who has established qualities of leadership, as well as being a good student of gentle bearing. Award winners have actively participated in the McGill Project, achieved academically, and demonstrated leadership in creating a more welcoming campus for all.

The John T. and Lizzie Allen Upper-class McGill Award (A student from either McTyeire or Mayfield)

Established in 1994, this award is given to an upper-class student of strong character for academic accomplishment and leadership in creating open and honest dialogue about complex and controversial issues. The award winner’s efforts have led to an increased understanding of other students’ needs and a more civil campus.

The John T. and Lizzie Allen Upper-class McGill Award (Any upper-class student)

Established in 1994, this award is given to an upper-class student for academic accomplishment and leadership in creating open and honest dialogue about complex and controversial issues. The award winner’s efforts have led to an increased understanding of other students’ needs and a more civil campus.

The Margaret Cuninggim Women’s Center Leadership Award (formerly the “Muliebrity Prize”)

The Margaret Cuninggim Women’s Center Leadership Award honors an undergraduate or graduate student(s) who demonstrates leadership in activities that contribute to the achievements, interests, and goals of women or that promote gender equity.  Nominations may be made by faculty, staff, and/or advisors; students may also nominate themselves or their peers.  The award will be given at the annual Magnolia Awards Dinner coordinated by the Student Leadership Development Office, where the honoree will be presented with a certificate and small cash award.  Questions about this award may directed to

Reverend Beverly A. Asbury Award for Interfaith Dialogue

Reverend Beverly A. Asbury is an outstanding person who served Vanderbilt University with honor and distinction for nearly 30 years as chaplain, Director of Religious Affairs and as an adjunct professor at the university’s Divinity School. In addition to his involvement in civil rights since his youth, Rev. Asbury brought to Vanderbilt a sense of life, commitment and tolerance that changed the culture on campus forever. Reverend Asbury has also contributed his knowledge and expertise as a founder of the Vanderbilt Holocaust Lectures, Vanderbilt Martin Luther King, Jr. Series, the Vanderbilt Holocaust Art Collection, and Project Dialogue. Working with students of different faiths, traditions and races, Rev. Asbury would build All Faith Chapel to give a space for diverse and welcoming worship on campus. A true humanitarian and bridge builder, Rev. Asbury brought together students, staff, faculty, and the community in conversation when it was needed most.

Undergraduate students whom exhibit the mindset of Rev. Asbury in work towards interfaith dialogue are encouraged to apply for the Rev. Beverly Asbury Award for Interfaith Dialogue.  Members of the Vanderbilt Community are also encouraged to nominate candidates whom they believe would be praiseworthy in this category as well.

Questions?  Please contact Mike Zimmerman at mike.zimmerman@Vanderbilt.Edu

Ripple In The Pond Award

In April 2001, the actions of two friends saved the life of Meredith Strong (’03) who had contracted a severe case of Bacterial Meningitis. This award honors those women who enhanced the character of their community by reaching out to help another in need. This award is available to any Vanderbilt undergraduate student or group of students whose act or acts create connections, or “ripples” which acknowledge our humanity, and thereby advance our community, one-to-one, group-to-group. Questions regarding the award may be directed to

Thomas M. Weser Award

This award was established in 1989 in memory of Thomas M. Weser, a German exchange student who was killed while attending Vanderbilt. Each year, the Weser Award recognizes an international student who has demonstrated an unusually strong commitment to intellectual life, cross-cultural appreciation, and personal integrity.  Non-Vanderbilt community recommendations should be emailed to with the subject line THOMAS WESER Recommendation and then the person’s name who is being recommended in the text of the email.  Questions regarding the award may be directed to

The Walther Award for Vucept Excellence

The Walther Award for VUcept Excellence (WAVE) was established in 2014 to recognize the hard work, dedication, and influence of Student VUceptors serving as undergraduate peer mentors in the programmatic initiatives of The Ingram Commons and College Halls.  The WAVE award is presented annually to up to five Vanderbilt undergraduate students, who have served at least one semester in the VUcept organization.  Students can choose to apply for the award using one of the four categories listed below.

  • Diversity Awareness – for commitment to furthering diverse perspectives among students in transition
  • Creativity – for commitment to innovative and effective approaches to student peer mentorship
  • Student Success – for commitment to providing appropriate guidance and resources to students in transition in order that they may achieve academic success and personal well-being
  • Faculty Engagement – for commitment to modeling engagement with faculty inside and outside of the classroom

All students who, at the time of application, have completed their first year or their third year (lifers) as VUceptors will be automatically considered for two specific awards (listed below). These applicants must complete one additional essay question.

  • Lifer Award – Students serving in the VUcept organization for three years who demonstrate excellence in the role will be eligible for this award
  • New VUceptor Award – Students completing their first semester in the organization who make a compelling argument about what they have learned are eligible for this award

Questions regarding all WAVE Awards may be directed to

Back to top