Leadership-Specific Awards

Leadership-specific awards recognize students with demonstrated leadership in all areas of the student experience for the impact that has taken place as a result of their leadership involvement at Vanderbilt.

Glenn & Elizabeth Bogitsh Award
Established in 1989 in memory of Glenn Carlisle (B.S. ’77) and Elizabeth Norris Bogitsh (B.S. ’82), this award recognizes high standards in physical fitness, participation in recreational sports, and sportsmanship. It is awarded each year to a Vanderbilt undergraduate or graduate student who demonstrates a strong commitment to campus recreational programs and by example and leadership has inspired participation and sportsmanlike conduct in these activities. A trophy is presented to the recipient and his/her name is engraved on a plaque in the Student Recreation Center.  Questions regarding this award may be directed to franklin.h.harrison@vanderbilt.edu

Imani Award: James Lawson Award for Leadership: The Rev. James Lawson Award for Campus and Community Leadership
The Imani Award honors the Rev. James Lawson, who served as a faithful and determined leader in the African-American community during the Civil Rights Movement and is still very active today, including teaching here at Vanderbilt. Imani is the Swahili word for “Faith.” Funded by the Bishop Joseph Johnson Black Cultural Center, this award recognizes a graduating senior who has continuously been an integral part of campus life and has demonstrated an outstanding capacity for leadership and devotion to Vanderbilt. The winning senior receives a monetary award and a plaque. The award will be given at the Magnolia Awards ceremony on Wednesday, April 13, 2015.  Questions regarding the award may be directed to jeff.s.king@vanderbilt.edu or frank.dobson@vanderbilt.edu

McGill Awards
These awards are presented through the generosity of the McGill family in honor of Dr. John T. and Lizzie Allen McGill who provided students with an atmosphere of hospitality and guidance through their years at Vanderbilt. A graduate of Vanderbilt in 1879, Dr. McGill spent his life in service to Vanderbilt.  He served as professor emeritus of chemistry, Dean of the School of Pharmacy and finally a historian of the University.  Questions regarding these awards may be directed to Luke.Nantz@vanderbilt.edu .  Descriptions of these awards are as follows:

John T. McGill Award (1 McGill Resident/Project Member)

Established in 1960 by Lizzie Allen McGill, this award is presented in memory of her husband, John T. McGill.  This award is presented each spring to the resident of McGill Hall who actively participates in the McGill Project and “who has established qualities of leadership, as well as being a good student of gentle bearing.” The recipient of the award is academically accomplished, exhibits respect for others, and has proven leadership ability.

The John T. & Lizzie Allen McGill First Year Award
(Two First Year Students)

Established in 1994, this award is given “for two academically accomplished first year students of gentle bearing who have shown kindness and respect for all others and who have established qualities of leadership.” These awards are based on academic accomplishment, strong character and demonstrated leadership ability.

The John T. and Lizzie Allen Upper-class McGill Award
(Two Upper-class Students, one of which is a participant in a Living Learning Community other than McGill Project)

Established in 1994, this award is given to two upper-class students “who are academically accomplished, have demonstrated qualities of leadership, and whose efforts have led to an increased understanding of other student’s needs and a more civil campus atmosphere.” These awards are based on academic accomplishment, strong character and demonstrated leadership ability.

Muliebrity Prize
The Muliebrity Prize honors an undergraduate or graduate student(s) who demonstrates leadership in activities that contribute to the achievements, interests, and goals of women or that promote gender equity. Nominations may be made by faculty, staff, and/or advisors; students may also nominate themselves or their peers.  The award will be given at the annual Magnolia Awards Recognition Ceremony coordinated by Student Leadership Development, where the honoree will be presented with a certificate and small cash award.  Any questions may referred to kinsey.l.walker@vanderbilt.edu or hyemin.kim@vanderbilt.edu.

Reverend Beverly A. Asbury Award for Interfaith Dialogue
Reverend Beverly A. Asbury is an outstanding person who served Vanderbilt University with honor and distinction for nearly 30 years as chaplain, Director of Religious Affairs and as an adjunct professor at the university’s Divinity School. In addition to his involvement in civil rights since his youth, Rev. Asbury brought to Vanderbilt a sense of life, commitment and tolerance that changed the culture on campus forever. Reverend Asbury has also contributed his knowledge and expertise as a founder of the Vanderbilt Holocaust Lectures, Vanderbilt Martin Luther King, Jr. Series, the Vanderbilt Holocaust Art Collection, and Project Dialogue. Working with students of different faiths, traditions and races, Rev. Asbury would build All Faith Chapel to give a space for diverse and welcoming worship on campus. A true humanitarian and bridge builder, Rev. Asbury brought together students, staff, faculty, and the community in conversation when it was needed most.

Undergraduate students whom exhibit the mindset of Rev. Asbury in work towards interfaith dialogue are encouraged to apply for the Rev. Beverly Asbury Award for Interfaith Dialogue.  Members of the Vanderbilt Community are also encouraged to nominate candidates whom they believe would be praiseworthy in this category as well.

Questions?  Please contact Mike Zimmerman at mike.zimmerman@Vanderbilt.Edu

Rob Roy Purdy Award
Established in 1979 to honor the Senior Vice-Chancellor Emeritus, an engraved cup is presented annually to an upper-class student selected by the Dean of Students staff for demonstrating through leadership the qualities of humaneness, dedication, loyalty, and unselfish service to Vanderbilt University exemplified by Rob Roy Purdy. Questions regarding the nomination may be directed to f.clark.williams@Vanderbilt.Edu

Robert Peter Pratt Memorial Award
The Robert Peter Pratt Memorial Award was established at  Vanderbilt University in 1991 to honor Robert Peter Pratt (1954-1991),  associate director of Undergraduate Admissions and long time leader in  promoting diversity within the student population. This award is presented to the Chancellor’s Scholar of junior or senior standing  whose accomplishments best exemplify Robert Peter Pratt’s commitment to  diversity and unity, leadership and cooperation, warmth and openness,  and unselfish service to others.  Questions regarding the award may be directed to Lyn.Fulton-John@vanderbilt.edu

Back to top