Lab Personnel

 

Dr. Christopher Janetopoulos

Assistant Professor
Biological Sciences
Email: c.janetopoulos@vanderbilt.edu

Dr. Janetopoulos started his scientific career as a biology and premedical major at Augustana College , Rock Island , IL . He received his Ph.D. from the Department of Biology at Texas A&M University in 1999. His Ph.D. work in the laboratory of Dr. Karl Aufderheide focused on micromanipulation of organelles in living cells using laser optical optical force traps and led to the discovery of a novel organelle during Tetrahmena thermophila...read more

 

Dr. Kamalakkannan Srinivasan

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Biological Sciences
Email: kamalakkannan.srinivasan@vanderbilt.edu

I completed PhD at Anna University, Chennai, India and post doctoral positions at University of Kentucky Lexington-KY and University of Tennessee Health Science Centre, Memphis-TN. My current research involves elucidating the role of PIP5K family protein in chemoattractant induced cell migration, cell polarity and cytokinesis. Chemoattractant induced cell polarization that is accumulation of PI (3, 4, 5) P3 at leading edge and...read more

 

Dr. Gus Wright

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Biological Sciences
Email: gus.a.wright@vanderbilt.edu

P.I. Dr. Chris Janetopoulos I am interested in understanding the adaptation mechanisms of GPCRs and heterotrimeric proteins during chemotaxis in Dictyostelium discoideum. Techniques in the lab involve fluorescence live cell imaging using wide-field, TIRF, and confocal microscopy. Other microscopy techniques used are FRAP, TIRF-FRAP, FRET, and...read more

 

Dawit Johar

PhD Candidate
Biological Sciences
Email: dawit.k.jowhar@vanderbilt.Edu

I am working on developing microfluidic devices that are used for studying chemotactic phenomena in Dictyostelium cells. These devices integrate microfluidic and micropipette technology to create environments that generate a stable gradient for Dictyostelium cells moving towards cyclic adenosine monophosphate (cAMP) or folic acid. These devices are easier to load and contain channels and posts with variable heights...read more

 

Yuantai Wu

PhD Candidate
Biological Sciences
Email: yuantai.wu@vanderbilt.edu

I am interested in chemotaxis in Dictyostelium discoideum. Chemotaxis is an innate cellular response required by many single-celled organisms to fulfill their daily activities such as seeking food and avoiding toxins. During chemotaxis, cells move directionally along extracellular chemoattractant gradients. Though called social soil ameobae, Dictyostelium live a solitary life unless they are starved. Upon starvation, cells start to...read more

 

Noelle Holmes

PhD Candidate
Biological Sciences
Email: noelle.k.holmes@vanderbilt.Edu

 

Yingjun Yan

Lab Manager
Email: yingjun.yan@vanderbilt.edu

SyBBURE Students/Undergraduate Researchers

 

Lauren Kolski

Email: lauren.e.kolski@vanderbilt.edu

Class of 2012

 

Kevin Qin

Email: ke.qin.1@vanderbilt.edu

Class of 2013

Major: Biomedical Engineering

 

Ryan Khodadadi

Email: ryan.b.khodadadi@vanderbilt.edu

Class of 2013

Major: Biomedical Engineering

Sabrina Popatia

Email:sabrina.popatia@vanderbilt.edu

Class of 2014

Major: Neuroscience

 

 

 

 

David Liao

Email: david.z.liao@vanderbilt.edu

Class of 2015

Major: Biomedical Engineering


Proud Graduates of our Lab

 

Arunan Standarajah

 

Devin Henson

 

Max Housman

 

Liwei Jiang

Class of 2011

Currently a Medical Student at Johns Hopkins University

 

Lei Qu

 

Holly Humphries