Vanderbilt University

Department of Economics

AY 2014-2015 Seminars, Workshops and Lectures

Departmental Seminar Series

Econometrics Workshop

Economic History Workshop

Empirical-Microeconomics Workshop

GPED Forum

Health Economics and Policy Seminar

International Economics Workshop

McGee Lecture Series

Steine Lecture Series


On Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, all seminars will take place in 109 Calhoun Hall from 3:10-4:30 pm. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, all seminars will be in 218 Calhoun Hall from 4:00-5:20pm.

All GPED Seminars will be held on Thursdays from 4:00-5:20 pm in 101 Buttrick Hall unless otherwise noted.  


 

FALL 2014

 

August

Thursday, August 21, 2014
GPED Forum
Mary E. Lovely, Syracuse University
"Determinants of Indigenous Innovation: Evidence from China's Photovoltaic Solar Industry"

Monday, August 25, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Micro)
Yan Chen, University of Michigan
"Chinese College Admissions and School Choice Reforms: Theory and Experiments"

Thursday, August 28, 2014
GPED Forum
Kishore Gawande, Texas A&M University
"Combatting Child Malnutrition: How Effective Are Nutrional Treatments in Eastern DRC?"

Friday, August 29, 2014
International Economics Workshop
Kishore Gawande, Texas A&M University
"The Political Economy of Trade Agreements: an Empirical Investigation"

September

Thursday, September 4, 2014
Empirical-Microeconomics Workshop
Brad Larsen, Stanford University
"The Bidder Exclusion Effect"

Monday, September 8, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Micro)
Jay Sethuraman, Columbia University
"Rationing Problems in Bipartite Networks"

Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Economic History Workshop
Richard Baker, Vanderbilt University
"Finding the Fat: The Relative Impact of Budget Fluctuations on African-American Schools"

Thursday, September 11, 2014
Econometrics Workshop
Yixiao Sun, University of California, San Diego
"Fixed-smoothing Asymptotics in a Two-step GMM Framework"

Friday, September 12, 2014
International Economics Workshop
Federico Mandelman, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
"Labor Market Polarization and International Macroeconomic Dynamics"

Monday, September 15, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Micro)
John Wooders, Univeristy of Technology, Sydney
"Dynamic Markets for Lemons: Performance, Liquidity, and Policy Intervention"

Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Health Economics and Policy Seminar
Craig Garthwaite, Kellogg School of Management
"Hospitals as Insurers of Last Resort"

Thursday, September 18, 2014
Empirical-Microeconomics Workshop
Andrea Moro, Vanderbilt University
"Do Female Executives Make a Difference? The Impact of Female Leadership on Gender Gaps and Firm Performance"

Thursday, September 18, 2014
GPED Forum
Jean Grossman, Princeton University
"An Evaluation of A Supplemental Academic Summer Program For Low-Performing Students Ages 12-14: The Best Laid Plans Of Mice And Men Often Go Astray"

Friday, September 19, 2014
International Economics Workshop
Gene Grossman, Princeton University
"Growth, Trade and Inequality"

Monday, September 22, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Macro)
Boyan Jovanovic, New York University

Thursday, September 25, 2014
Econometrics Workshop
Ke-Li Xu, Texas A&M University
"Subvector Inference in Local Regression"

Thursday, September 25, 2014
GPED Forum
Maya Eden, World Bank
"The Substitution of ICT Capital for Routine Labor: Transitional Dynamics and Long-Run Implications"

Monday, September 29, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Micro)
Rabah Amir, University of Iowa

Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Economic History Workshop
Myrna Wooders, Vanderbilt University
"The Simultaneous Emergence of Money and the State"

October

Friday, October 3, 2014
GPED Forum
Miranda Xafa, E.F. Consulting
"Managing the Euro Area Debt Crisis"

Monday, October 6, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Macro)
Etienne Gagnon, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
"Small Price Responses to Large Demand Shocks"

Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Economic History Workshop
Werner Troesken, University of Pittsburgh
"The Pox of Liberty: How the Constitution Left Americans Rich, Free, and Prone to Infection"

Thursday, October 9, 2014
Econometrics Workshop
Hiroaki Kaido, Boston University
"Inference for Projections of Identified Sets," (joint with Francesca Molinari and Joerg Stoye)

Thursday, October 9, 2014
GPED Forum
Ali Zafar, World Bank

Monday, October 13, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Macro)
Matt Van Essen, University of Alabama
"Equilibrium and Maximin Perfection in a Dynamic Fair Division Auction"

Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Micro)
Robert Chirinko, University of Illinois at Chicago
The Substitution Elasticity, Factor Shares, Long-Run Growth, And The Low-Frequency Panel Model

Monday, October 20, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Macro)
Ufuk Akcigit, University of Pennsylvania

Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Economic History Workshop
Laura Salisbury, York University
"The Long-Term Effects of Losing the Civil War: Evidence from Border States"

Thursday, October 23, 2014
Empirical-Microeconomics Workshop
Donna Gilleskie, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
"Disentangling the Contemporaneous and Life-Cycle Effects of Body Mass on Earnings" (with Euna Han and Edward Norton)

Monday, October 27, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Macro)
Gadi Barlevy, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
"Mandatory Disclosure and Financial Contagion" with Fernando Alvarez, University of Chicago

Thursday, October 30, 2014
GPED Forum
Andrew W. Horowitz, University of Arkansas

 

November

Monday, November 3, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Macro)
Espen Henriksen, University of California, Davis

Thursday, November 6, 2014
Econometrics Workshop
José L. Montiel Olea, New York University

Thursday, November 6, 2014
GPED Forum
Keith Maskus, University of Colorado Boulder

Friday, November 7, 2014
International Economics Workshop
Jonathan Dingel, University of Chicago

Monday, November 10, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Macro)
Julia Thomas, Ohio State University

Thursday, November 13, 2014
Empirical-Microeconomics Workshop
Yinghua He, Toulouse School of Economics

Thursday, November 13, 2014
GPED Forum
Michelle Kaffenberger, InterMedia, CGAP

Monday, November 17, 2014
Departmental Seminar (Micro)
Peter Savelyev, Vanderbilt University

Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Health Economics and Policy Seminar
Colin Cooke
, University of Michigan Health System

Thursday, November 20, 2014
International Economics Workshop, Lunch Seminar
Chad Bown, World Bank

Thursday, November 20, 2014
GPED Forum
Chad Bown, World Bank


December

Tuesday,December 2, 2014
Economic History Workshop
François Velde, Federal Bank of Chicago

Thursday, December 4, 2014
Empirical-Microeconomics Workshop
Georgia Kosmopoulou, University of Oklahoma

Friday, December 5, 2014
Lunch Seminar
Georgia Kosmopoulou, University of Oklahoma

Wednesday, December 17, 2014 *CANCELLED
Health Economics and Policy Seminar
Doug Staiger, Dartmouth College
*This seminar has been postponed until the spring.

 

SPRING 2015


January

Monday, January 12, 2015
Departmental Seminar (Macro)
William Dupor, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis


March

Monday, March 16, 2015
Departmental Seminar (Micro)
M. Utku Ünver, Boston College

Monday, March 23, 2015
Departmental Seminar (Micro)
Kyle Bagwell, Stanford University

Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Steine Lecture Series
Kyle Bagwell, Stanford University
4:00-5:30 pm, Location TBA
Reception to follow

 

 

 

 

 

 


For archives of earlier seminars go to: http://www.vanderbilt.edu/econ/seminars-and-research/index.html