Skip to Content

Department of Economics


News Links

Faculty News

saggi Kamal Saggi has been appointed the Frances and John Downing Family Professor of Economics.
atack John Weymark has received a courtesy appointment as Professor of Philosophy at Vanderbilt.
atack John Weymark has been appointed as an Editor of Economics and Philosophy for a three-year term.
Peter Savelyev's article on "Understanding the Mechanisms through which and Influential Early Childhood Program Boosted Adult Outcomes" is the lead article in the October, 2013 American Economic Review.  This article was also recently referenced in Vanderbilt University's Research News.
NEW FACULTY: We are pleased to welcome Professor Christopher (Kitt) Carpenter, as well as new assistant professors Eun Jeong Heo, Dong-Hyuk Kim, and Alejandro Molnar.
Mario Crucini's research on international wages and prices is featured is the National Bureau of Economic Research Reporter."

Christina Rennhoff received the Gilliam Award for excellence in teaching by a lecturer or senior lecturer.  

Peter Rousseau received the Ernest A. Jones faculty advisor award for excellent undergraduate advising.  

Malcolm Getz was recently honored by the College of Arts & Science for his 40 years of service to Vanderbilt.
Alejandro Molnar's work on congestion externalities in the airline industry was selected for the "Best paper by a young researcher" award at the Annual Conference of the International Transportation Economics Association, held July 10-12 at Northwestern University. More details here:
Mario Crucini delivered the keynote address: “Flat World Fiction, Real World Friction: What Determines International Wages and Prices?” at the Global Policy, Global Institutions and Global Development Conference hosted by Queen Mary University of London on June 25, 2013.

Professors Emeritus Atack and Maneschi were honored for their careers of scholarship and service at Commencement and at a reception and dinner hosted by the Department.

Professors Emeritus Jeremy Atack and Andrea Maneschi pictured above.

saggi GPED Director Dr. Kamal Saggi is an invited keynote speaker at the Tenth Annual International Conference on the Problems of Economic Development in the Modern World "Sustainable Development of Russian Regions: Russia and WTO".
atack An article by Kamal Saggi about the strengths of Foreign Direct Investment was recently published in the Indian Express.
atack John Weymark has been appointed to the International Advisory Board of the Department of Economics, European University at St. Petersburg, Russia.
atack Jeremy Atack has been elected a Fellow of the Cliometric Society in recognition of his many contributions to the field of Economic History.  There are currently fewer than 20 Fellows worldwide, including two Nobel laureates.
getz The August 22nd issue of the Vanderbilt Hustler features professors Anderson, Getz, Rousseau and Weymark on the front cover. Click here to view the edition.
Internationally acclaimed economics scholars attend first APET workshop in Brisbane, Australia. Leading international economics scholars are in Brisbane for the first workshop to be held in Australia by the Association for Public Economic Theory (APET). Chair of the program committee, Professor Flavio Menezes said hosting the workshop in Australia reflected the research strengths and international reputation of the University of Queensland's School of Economics. Public and Private Partnerships (PPPs) is the theme of the 2012 APET Workshop, co-hosted by APET and the University of Queensland (UQ) School of Economics at Tangalooma Island Resort, from June 25-26. Click here to read more.
crucini Mario Crucini has been elected President of the International Economics and Finance Society, a professional association of economists founded in 1992. He will serve a two-year term beginning in January 2013.
daughety Andrew Daughety has been appointed to the Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Chair in Economics. 

Faculty News Archives: 2008-2009-2010-2011- 2012

VU Economics News

Contact Information:

Phone: (615) 322-2871

Fax: (615) 343-8495

Write to:
Department of Economics
Vanderbilt University
VU Station B, Box #351819
2301 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37235