Vanderbilt Basketball at SEC Media Day 11/1/01

Quotes and photos from SEC Media Day

Vanderbilt Media Day Photo Gallery

The Vanderbilt men's and women's basketball teams were featured Thursday at the SEC Basketball Media Day in Birmingham, Ala.

Representing the men's team were senior guards Sam Howard and Chuck Moore, while the women's squad was represented by senior forward Zuzi Klimesova and junior center Chantelle Anderson.

As part of the Media Day events, the media voted on preseason team and individual predictions.

The Kentucky Wildcats and the Tennessee Lady Vols are predicted to repeat as Southeastern Conference Basketball Champions, according to a pre-season vote of media attending Tipoff 2002, the SEC Basketball Media Day, held at the Birmingham Sheraton Hotel.

In the men's voting, Kentucky took 20 of 23 votes while Florida received the remaining three tallies. Last season, Florida and Kentucky were SEC co-champions. The Wildcats were an overwhelming favorite as well to win the Eastern Division while Alabama took 15 votes and was predicted to win the Western Division.

UK senior forward Tayshaun Prince was the choice for the league's Player of the Year, garnering 17 votes. Joining Prince on the All-SEC team were Kentucky junior guard Keith Bogans, junior guard Brett Nelson and senior center Udonis Haslem of Florida and Alabama junior guard/forward Rod Grizzard.

In the women's voting, Tennessee took 8 of 15 first-place votes to outdistance second-place Vanderbilt, which received the remaining seven first-place votes.

Commodore junior center Chantelle Anderson easily took Player of the Year honors, with nine votes. Joining Anderson on the All-SEC team were VU senior forward Zuzana Klimesova, Lady Vol teammates, junior forward Gwen Jackson and junior guard Kara Lawson, Miss. State junior guard/forward LaToya Thomas and Lady Gator senior guard Brandi McCain.

A rundown of the SEC Basketball Media Day voting is below:

Tipoff 2002 – SEC Basketball Media Day Media Voting

Men’s Basketball Predictions (23 voters)

CHAMPION – Kentucky (20), Florida (3).

1. Kentucky (20) 26
2. Florida (3) 43
3. Tennessee 76
4. South Carolina 98
5. Georgia 105
6. Vanderbilt 123

1. Alabama (15) 33
2. Arkansas (5) 60
3. Ole Miss (2) 66
4. Auburn (1) 78
5. LSU 121
6. Miss. State 125

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky (17), Udonis Haslem, Florida (3), Keith Bogans, Kentucky (1), Brett Nelson, Florida (1) [1 person did not fill in POY].

FIRST-TEAM PRESEASON ALL-SEC G – Brett Nelson, Florida 17 G – Keith Bogans, Kentucky 15 C – Udonis Haslem, Florida 22 F – Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky 22 G/F – Rod Grizzard, Alabama 11

Tipoff 2002 – SEC Basketball Media Day Media Voting Women’s Basketball

Predictions (15 voters)
1. Tennessee (8) 22
2. Vanderbilt (7) 33
3. Georgia 54
4. Florida 62
5. LSU 85
6. Auburn 101
7. Arkansas 107
8. Miss. State 115
9. Alabama 127
10. South Carolina 148
11. Ole Miss 153
12. Kentucky 163

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt (9), LaToya Thomas, Miss. State (2), Kara Lawson, Tennessee (1), Tawana McDonald, Georgia (1).

FIRST-TEAM PRESEASON ALL-SEC G – Brandi McCain, Florida 10 G – Kara Lawson, Tennessee 10 C – Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt 12 F – LaToya Thomas, Miss. State 12 F – (Tie) Zuzana Klimesova, Vanderbilt 4 Gwen Jackson, Tennessee 4


Vanderbilt Athletic Department
2601 Jess Neely Drive
Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-GOLD (4653)