Commodores Lead the List with Eight Players

The Vanderbilt Commodores placed eight players on the 2002-03 Southeastern Conference Women’s Basketball Academic Honor Roll announced today by SEC Commissioner Mike Slive. That is the second highest total for the Commodores - VU placed nine student-athletes on the 1991-92 SEC Academic Honor Roll.

Current Commodores earning academic honors, include Jenni Benningfield, Hillary Hager and Venessa Ferragamo. Other Commodores named to the team, which is based on grades from the 2001-02 academic calendar, are graduates Jillian Danker, Zuzi Klimesova and Candice Storey. Katie Smith Busby and Jill Corbett, who left the team prior to the 2002-03 season, were also honored. The complete Vanderbilt list follows:

Jenni Benningfield, Junior, Human & Organizational Development
Katie Smith Busby, Senior, Special Education
Jill Corbett, Sophomore, Human & Organizational Development
Jillian Danker, Graduate, Communication Studies
Venessa Ferragamo, Junior, History
Hillary Hager, Junior, Neuroscience
Zuzi Klimesova, Graduate, Human & Organizational Development/Russian
Candice Storey, Graduate, Human Development Counseling

This was the first year on the Academic Honor Roll list for Benningfield, Corbett, Ferragamo, and Hager. Storey has earned Academic Honor Roll honors six times, followed by Klimesova and Danker four times and Smith-Busby three times.

A total of 44 student-athletes were named to the list. Mississippi numbered seven student-athletes, followed by Florida with five.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must: 1) have a 3.0 grade point average for either the past year (two semesters or three quarters) or a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for their career; 2) be a sophomore or higher in terms of academic classification; and 3) have 24 semester or 36 quarter hours toward a degree.


Vanderbilt Athletic Department
2601 Jess Neely Drive
Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-GOLD (4653)