The Nancy Lieberman Award enters its fourth year and continues building national recognition. The award is a national project of the Rotary Club of Detroit Honoring the nation’s top collegiate point guard in women’s Division I basketball. The criterion for the award is the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills that personified Hall of Famer, Nancy Lieberman during her career. The sportswriters from across the country will nominate the finalists and eventual winner.

Here is the final nominee list (in alphabetical order):


1. Coretta Brown - North Carolina
2. Erin Grant - Texas Tech
3. Michelle Greco - UCLA
4. Temeka Johnson - LSU
5. Kara Lawson - Tennessee
6. Ashley McElhiney - Vanderbilt
7. Sara Nord - Louisville
8. Yolanda Paige - West Virginia
9. Cappie Pondexter - Rutgers
10. Diana Taurasi - Connecticut
11. Amy Waugh - Xavier
12. Lindsay Whalen - Minnesota

Last year’s award and ceremony was a great success. Sue Bird, University of Connecticut Huskies, received this top honor for the third straight year in a row. This year’s award will be presented at a noon luncheon at The Detroit Athletic Club on April 9, 2003. The program will be inspiring and entertaining. Bill Laimbeer, current head coach of the Detroit Shock and former Detroit Piston legend, will be our keynote speaker. Other nationally recognized dignitaries including Nancy Lieberman will be in attendance. Devin Scillian of WDIV-TV will host the event.

Two of our main proceed recipients are the American Cancer Society and the Women’s Sports Foundation. Monies to the American Cancer Society will be used for direct support of various breast cancer initiatives. Monies to the Women’s Sports Foundation will be used to create an educated public that encourages participation in female athletics and supports gender equality in sport.

You can visit the official Nancy Lieberman Award website at (www.pointguard.org). Questions about the award, luncheon, luncheon tickets or sponsorships please contact Chris Flynn, Co-Chair, at (313)824-4264 or email: contact@pointguard.org.


Vanderbilt Athletic Department
2601 Jess Neely Drive
Nashville, TN 37212
615-322-GOLD (4653)